Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
A terrific recipe. I used leftover roast and a ton more veggies and the results were outstanding. Next time, I'll consider adding a bit of hot pepper to add a little heat to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Average soup. I guess I was hoping for something with a bit more of a spice flavour. Good winter soup, would use again as a base to zip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made this recipe yesterday and it came out great. As it was getting closer to being done I thought that it could use something extra. After reading through some reviews I decided to add some Worcestershire Sauce and Beef Boullion. Thats exactly what it needed. Next time I will add the barley about 2-3 hours before its finished. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Thank you for this great recipe. I think it was just a little bit too peppery... I will reduce the pepper amount to 1/2 next time. I used fresh garlic and added fresh mushrooms. We really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hxlowent
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
It was pretty good. I followed instructions in the comments to add all the ingredients to the slow cooker, except the barley, cook for 10 hours, then let the barley in an hour before finish. I thought "wow, I have way more than a half cup of barley, what if I make it 1 cup?" That was a mistake ... now I have a soup that's about the consistency of oatmeal! I'll try to thin it out with more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I'll make this again. I used stew beef and I think I added more vegetables than called for but those are really a to taste sort of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very hearty and tasty stew! I loved how tender the beef was from using the slow cooker. Easy to make and freeze for more dinners another day. I used fresh thyme rather than dried, and it needed a bit of salt. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tami
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I gave this a 3-star rating, because to be honest I did not try the soup as it ended up. I was trying to re-create a thick barley soup we had at a restaurant. I started with this recipe in the crock pot, then when it was done I transferred it to a pot and added a blonde roux (recipe on this site as well). Yum yum yum!! Perfect :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Absolutely the best. Very simple, nourishing, affordable meal. My husband very sincerely gets tears of happiness in his eyes just thinking about it, and he didn't even know he liked barley until I made this for him. I had no parsley, and forgot the thyme, and it is still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Great - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States