Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
We were all really looking forward to this recipe, however you wouldn't THINK it would taste bland from reading the ingredients, but we ended up adding 8237434 spices and sauces at the end to liven it up. Just beware you'll probably need to do this after you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I have electric pressure cooker that I used to make this soup. Beef Barley Soup has always been a bland soup which is good when you are not feeling well but for normal times I dress it up. I use fresh or frozen carrots (I buy precut matchstick carrot to use in soup a lot). I use the green onions but I use 12 instead of 6. Always fresh garlic over powder and I add 2 tsp of Mrs. Dash. I cook the Meat for 20 Minutes after I brown with no oil with everything but the barley. I let cool down then add the barley and cook on rice setting. Came out great. I also add a hand full of fresh snapped green beans when I put the barley in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really enjoyed this soup. I added a can of diced tomatoes. Beware, 1 tsp of pepper leaves it quite spicy. A bit much for my husband. Next time I will half that. Otherwise, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this soup! It was the first time I made anything with Barley and it turned out so yummy! I'm hooked now. The only changes I made was to use ground beef, because I had it on hand, and bouillon cubes reconstituted to make the broth. I think I did the bouillon cubes wrong though because it turned out saltier then the sea. I don't count that as a problem of the recipe though, that was my fault. So good! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was good....but liked it much better once it sat overnight in my 'fridge and then warmed it up the next day. I always think soup tastes better when it sits and absorbs all the flavors. I added a little less barley and and a little extra beef broth. Will make this again....the day before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I halved the recipe for use in my small slow cooker. This turned out as more of a stew than a soup, but I'm OK with that. I couldn't find beef broth without MSG, so I used beef stock instead. I tossed the beef with salt, pepper, and flour before browning, and used a bit of the beef stock to deglaze the skillet instead of water. I also used a regular onion rather than green onions. The beef was very tender and the barley and the carrots didn't get mushy (I don't like mushy carrots) despite the long cooking time. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I qppreciate that this recipe utilizes the slow cooker, which I like to use when we are busy. In this case, we were gone all day, and it was nice to come home to an already cooked meal. I added in some corn and kept the recipe the same otherwise. My husband and I liked this, but the kids said that they didn't really care for the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
One of the est soups I have made from this site, EXCELLENT! will make again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a great starter recipe for Beef Barley Soup. I don't bother with the slow cooker; I do it right on my stovetop. I let it simmer on low for about 2 or 3 hours, and the beef comes out unbelievably tender. I also don't use the plain water at all. I use all beef broth to cook the veggies and the meat and it works so much better than just water. I also add balsamic vinegar and a touch of tomato paste to the meat to give some tanginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha Millich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I added barley in 2 hours before it was ready to avoid mush; and I added 1 can of chicken broth in place of some of the water; also added 1 can of rotel diced tomatoes with chiles, which gave it some spice; used a bag of frozen mixed vegetables; turned out great! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States