Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
When I first made this soup, I made it exactly according to the recipe. I had bought all my ingredients fresh that day so the only thing I could think that caused it to go wrong was the canned beef broth. So I made it again, this time with a quart of beef stock (the kind Swanson makes). I'm sure it's not as good as homemade stock would be, but it was a vast improvement from the canned broth. That is the only change I would suggest to this recipe. Otherwise it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was wonderful, I like a little more kick so I added 1/4 cup zinfandel (red), a table spoon of sundried tomaotoes, two chopped roma tomatoes, fresh garlic, and a small potato...it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Took into account the comments about being a little bland. Browned stew meat w/ diced yellow onion and thyme. Added to the crockpot 1 1/2 cans beef broth, 6 cups water and 4tbsp. of beef granules. Then added sliced carrots, can of corn and can of diced tomoatoes. Two hrs. before serving I added the barley. So yummy!! My husband loved it and my very fussy, no veggie eating teenager LOVED it also. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I thought this soup was just okay. The meat itself came out tender and flavorful with the salt, pepper and garlic, but the soup itself was kind of boring. I did however find the soup somewhat tastier as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
We were all really looking forward to this recipe, however you wouldn't THINK it would taste bland from reading the ingredients, but we ended up adding 8237434 spices and sauces at the end to liven it up. Just beware you'll probably need to do this after you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I have electric pressure cooker that I used to make this soup. Beef Barley Soup has always been a bland soup which is good when you are not feeling well but for normal times I dress it up. I use fresh or frozen carrots (I buy precut matchstick carrot to use in soup a lot). I use the green onions but I use 12 instead of 6. Always fresh garlic over powder and I add 2 tsp of Mrs. Dash. I cook the Meat for 20 Minutes after I brown with no oil with everything but the barley. I let cool down then add the barley and cook on rice setting. Came out great. I also add a hand full of fresh snapped green beans when I put the barley in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Really enjoyed this soup. I added a can of diced tomatoes. Beware, 1 tsp of pepper leaves it quite spicy. A bit much for my husband. Next time I will half that. Otherwise, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this soup! It was the first time I made anything with Barley and it turned out so yummy! I'm hooked now. The only changes I made was to use ground beef, because I had it on hand, and bouillon cubes reconstituted to make the broth. I think I did the bouillon cubes wrong though because it turned out saltier then the sea. I don't count that as a problem of the recipe though, that was my fault. So good! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was good....but liked it much better once it sat overnight in my 'fridge and then warmed it up the next day. I always think soup tastes better when it sits and absorbs all the flavors. I added a little less barley and and a little extra beef broth. Will make this again....the day before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I halved the recipe for use in my small slow cooker. This turned out as more of a stew than a soup, but I'm OK with that. I couldn't find beef broth without MSG, so I used beef stock instead. I tossed the beef with salt, pepper, and flour before browning, and used a bit of the beef stock to deglaze the skillet instead of water. I also used a regular onion rather than green onions. The beef was very tender and the barley and the carrots didn't get mushy (I don't like mushy carrots) despite the long cooking time. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States