Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Outstanding! I was trying to use ingredients from my pantry, so I used almost three boxes of organic chicken broth. I pressed three small cloves of garlic in place of the garlic powder. I used a large yellow onion instead of the green onions. Added a tad more meat, a pinch more salt and I inadvertantly added the thyme at the beginning instead of just before serving. I also followed another reviewer's tip and added the barley 2-3 hours before serving. All said, this is the best soup I've ever made. I took a large bowl of it to my neighbors along with a pan of cornbread. They enjoyed it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious... I also added yellow onion. Only thing I would change would be to cook the barley separately... Turned out a bit starchy. Otherwise a great recipe. A dollop of sour cream on top and some Portuguese rolls, and dinner is served!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I think this is a great recipe! Warm and hearty...good for cold winter days. I tweaked the seasonings to my taste, but Im not one for writing a review based on a million alterations. This recipe was good as is, and better when changed for my tastes. Even my husband, the pickiest of picky gobbled this right up. A winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskinner51207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Le Claire, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I found this recipe to be delicious. The only thing I would change is cut the onions in half and add more carrots. My wife, daughter and I thought there was just many onions. It sort of over took the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was really, really bad. Sorry. We tried...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
@ Moochiecat: Any time everyone who eats the same thing ends up all having 'digestive problems', usually means that the meat used was improperly handled and/or expired and should not have been used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
When I first made this soup, I made it exactly according to the recipe. I had bought all my ingredients fresh that day so the only thing I could think that caused it to go wrong was the canned beef broth. So I made it again, this time with a quart of beef stock (the kind Swanson makes). I'm sure it's not as good as homemade stock would be, but it was a vast improvement from the canned broth. That is the only change I would suggest to this recipe. Otherwise it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was wonderful, I like a little more kick so I added 1/4 cup zinfandel (red), a table spoon of sundried tomaotoes, two chopped roma tomatoes, fresh garlic, and a small potato...it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Took into account the comments about being a little bland. Browned stew meat w/ diced yellow onion and thyme. Added to the crockpot 1 1/2 cans beef broth, 6 cups water and 4tbsp. of beef granules. Then added sliced carrots, can of corn and can of diced tomoatoes. Two hrs. before serving I added the barley. So yummy!! My husband loved it and my very fussy, no veggie eating teenager LOVED it also. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I thought this soup was just okay. The meat itself came out tender and flavorful with the salt, pepper and garlic, but the soup itself was kind of boring. I did however find the soup somewhat tastier as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States