Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This serves as an excellent base
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeani Fairbrother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I only used half the thyme & it was still overpowering...I would eliminate it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Very filling and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Absolutely loved this soup! I had tons of stew meat and didn't know what to do with it, and came across this recipe. It made so much I was able to take half of it to my grandparents! I didnt have fresh parsley or onions, and can't wait to make it again with those added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Modine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Outstanding! I was trying to use ingredients from my pantry, so I used almost three boxes of organic chicken broth. I pressed three small cloves of garlic in place of the garlic powder. I used a large yellow onion instead of the green onions. Added a tad more meat, a pinch more salt and I inadvertantly added the thyme at the beginning instead of just before serving. I also followed another reviewer's tip and added the barley 2-3 hours before serving. All said, this is the best soup I've ever made. I took a large bowl of it to my neighbors along with a pan of cornbread. They enjoyed it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious... I also added yellow onion. Only thing I would change would be to cook the barley separately... Turned out a bit starchy. Otherwise a great recipe. A dollop of sour cream on top and some Portuguese rolls, and dinner is served!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I think this is a great recipe! Warm and hearty...good for cold winter days. I tweaked the seasonings to my taste, but Im not one for writing a review based on a million alterations. This recipe was good as is, and better when changed for my tastes. Even my husband, the pickiest of picky gobbled this right up. A winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskinner51207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Le Claire, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I found this recipe to be delicious. The only thing I would change is cut the onions in half and add more carrots. My wife, daughter and I thought there was just many onions. It sort of over took the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gordon Creelman
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was really, really bad. Sorry. We tried...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
@ Moochiecat: Any time everyone who eats the same thing ends up all having 'digestive problems', usually means that the meat used was improperly handled and/or expired and should not have been used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States