Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Very nice recipe. I tried adding a little more Barley (about 1/2 cup more - but I don't think I'll do that next time. It was a little thick. I also followed a prior reviewer suggestion, I used 7 cups of beef broth (made with beef bullion) and no water. I'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Tasty soup! Except mine turned out more like stew. My slow cooker wasn't large enough so I could only put in half the recommended amount of water. But I rather liked it as a thicker stew consistency. Very tasty supper for a cold winter evening. Think I would cut back on the thyme next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This soup is delicious. I added twice the barley and I use chicken stock instead of beef. A couple of bay leaves and some fresh garlic cloves really kick up the spice. Put in half the suggested thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I've used this recipe several times and my husband and I both like it. We thought it was too watery, so we use (6) 14.5 oz cans of beef broth and don't add any water. He's a big beef fan, so I also increase the beef to 2 or 2 1/2 lbs. Add bread and salad and you have a great meal on for a cold afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Excellent soup. I've looked a long time for good beef barley soup.Easy prep then put in slow cooker and forget it. I did find that 6 stalks of celery was too much as was 6 onions. I used 4 stalks of celery and 3 onions. I cooked it 8 hours and found that maybe too much as I would have liked the barley a little more al dente. You will love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
One word - BLAH! I even tried to spice it up with extra spices but it didn't help. Was way too watered down. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Overall good flavour, but a little disappointing. The barley more or less took over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Harbour, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
Makes EXCELLENT Beef Barley soup with VERY little work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
We really enjoyed this soup on a cold rainy day in winter...but....slow cooked beef combined with the barley did something ....um..cleansing to our systems! So I caution anyone with digestive problems to be aware of this. It was very delicious, that's for sure, but it's become a bit of a comedy thing around here when I threaten to make the crock pot beef barley soup! :-) Perhaps next time I'll make it without the beef, and add cold roast beef at the end of the cooking...that should be ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States