Slow Cooker Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
The first thing about this recipe that grabbed my attention was that it is made in a slow cooker. The prep for this is easy and smelled delicious almost instantly, but the taste is SO bland. I have done everything I could to spice it up including fresh garlic, onion powder, extra garlic powder, garlic salt, and finally tomato sauce, but it's still just so-so. I've thrown it out and will NOT make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marty
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Excellent taste, as I did not have enough time to do slow cooker I used the ingredients and prepared the dish in my pressure cooker. The combinations of the ingredients is the true key to the flavor of this dish, fast or slow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
mmm, good! A great soup to make on a cool rainy day. I used 3 10.5oz cans of vegetable broth and added 1 package of Knorr brand Vegetable soup mix but kept everything else the same. I am glad that I used the bigger cans of broth because it was just the perfect consistency; not too thick and not too thin. I did not use pearl barley but homegrown barley from my husband's family. The combo of flavors was just perfect and was not a bit greasy. I used just a tad canola oil when browning the beef. Perfect flavor and seasoning and sooo incredibly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by james family
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
The soup is EXCELLENT !!! I did use 2 cups of barley instead of one, but that's only because I like Barley. Great recipe. Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by james family

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I enjoyed this very much. Two things I would change, however: (1) drain the oil from cooking the beef and (2) cook it longer than 7 hours, as carrots weren't very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeF64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Tasted pretty good, but it didn't impress me. Will probably go back to making beef barley soup over the stove rather than in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I used this basic recipe and added corn, mushrooms and minced garlic instead of the powder. Lots of rave reviews from the construction crew I was feeding on a 20 degree day! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Pretty darn good. I have a 3qt slow cooker though, so I didnt have quite enough room for all the water. I added it in later (after cookiung when I packed it up to freeze) and everything still tastes yummy. Becky and the kids liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Absolutely yummy! Everyone in our family from 18months to 20 to 48 loved this. I didn't even have any veggies in it (happened to run out before I made it) and it was great. Will definitely make again, hopefully with some veggies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEVEN_STOKES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I seasoned the meat in the crock pot with garlic and onion powder. Made with Italian herb bread from this site. Turned out fine. I did use more seasoning. All the kids ate it, and some had seconds. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States