Slow Cooker Beef Barbacoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jensenly
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was everything a slow cooker recipe is supposed to be: easy, not a lot of ingredients, and great outcome. Next time, I will probably brown the meat before adding to the slow cooker just to give it another layer of flavor. Great basic recipe that could easily be customized to be more spicy or more intense, depending on your flavor buds. This also would be a great dish to serve at a party - it appeals to many different palates. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by waylon1981
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Super simple and easy. This is great in quesadillas, tacos, burritos, etc. I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic!! I think next time I might add some chipotle in adobo for extra heat as I like it a little spicier than most. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Slow clap. I used as a base, as i do most recpies I get. I love garlic, and spicy items. I modified it to fit my taste. I think without it it still would have been great. I love this and it showed me how to really cook the roast and have the true shred to the meat. Cant thank you enough. Exploding high 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I followed all the instructions and after I tasted the paste I had second thoughts about putting it on the meat. I did not marinate, just added paste and covered the pan. My 12lb brisket was in the oven 5hrs and 40 mins. I discarded the juices and made tacos with corn tortillas, cilantro, tomatoe, Mexican crumbled cheese, chopped onion, lime juice and added homeade salsa! These were DELISHiOUS!! My Caucasian family loved them! Thanks a bunch for this great recipe! I will have pictures posted:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke'smom
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Great recipe!!! I had to alter it to fit into a weeknight menu as most people are not home to stop the cooking process after 4 hours. So what I did was follow the direction my only change was cook my meat on low for 8 hours. After that I followed the directions and returned it back to the crock pot for 1 hour on high... I also added a good amount of garlic salt to the meat when it was cooking on high, it gave it such great flavor.. This is an amazing recipe and tastes so wonderful!!!! You will be so happy you made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Amazing! Based on another review I added a few splashes of smoked chipotle tabasco sauce to make it a little spicier-this is truly delicious and I can't wait to make it again! Serving it with taco fixings tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was very tender and moist. It was seasoned enough for our palates so I added additional garlic salt and some chipotle chili powder to liven it up a bit. We made burritos with it the first night, and used the leftovers in quesadillas! It's a great alternative to the standard pot roast! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbra
Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Clayton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The only thing I changes was I added chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. My husband melted over it. :) Put it in a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is nothing like authentic Barbacoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonicaTheKiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was just ok as written. We like ours a little sweeter, so ended up adding a bunch of brown sugar at the end, and some cumin to help round out the flavor. Will probably make again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States