Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Yum! This was really tasty and easy, which is a must for week night meals. We ate this spooned over corn bread, and was even better the next day warmed up. I think next time I will try to reduce the pepper, as even a 1/2 tsp was too spicy for my toddler, but the hubby raved over this recipe and I really enjoyed the little "kick" the pepper added. My only complaint was that I thought it had too much "pork and beans" flavor for my taste and will consider adding just chili beans or kidney beans next time. Oh and I chopped the bacon up before adding it after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
ok...let me preface this by saying that I don't usually like sweet chili. I loved this recipe. It was tasty and easy. I made these changes. corn syrup instead of molasses(personal preference)1 pound ground beef, 1 chopped onion, 1 can drained kidney beans, 1 8oz. can tomato sauce, 1 tsp. chili powder, and 1 Tbsp brown sugar. I browned the beef, cooked the onions and peppers and cooked the whole thing on low for 6-8 hours. oh yeah, I used porkless baked beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyBennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This gets five stars because my VERY VERY VERY picky seven year old liked this! I doubled the ammount of the baked beans, one can just didnt seem enough with all that meat. It was good, maybe what I would call kids chili. Adults used to a traditional, spicier chili, probably wont care for it too much. But what a hit with the kids! Next timt they want me to throw in some hot dogs. Whatever gets them to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Great! It's not a true "chili" by any means so if you are looking for a traditional chili recipe, don't make this. I was looking for a dish that I could make for a friend's family (she is having a baby) that even her 4 year old would eat and so I tried this. I had a hard time getting it to them as my husband wanted to eat it. I made the bacon in the oven (on a cookie sheet covered with foil at 425 degrees until crisp) to cut down on splattering on the stove top and added it as per the recipe. I left it in whole strips as I was unsure if people would want bacon in it and it would make it easier to remove, like a bayleaf. I have used green, yellow, and red peppers (whatever was in the garden) and even pepper haters ate it. Great dish that will please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Very good! With a few alterations, this has become my favorite chili recipe. I omit the bacon and add a can of kidney beans, a can of tomato sauce, and some chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This recipe was very good and easy to make. The only thing I would recommend is cutting the bacon up after cooking it. The bacon gives the chili great flavor but is hard to eat in the chili in whole slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This was so easy and My husband LOVED IT!!! Will make again & agian...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I thought this recipe was delicious. Definitely not for those who are looking for a spicy chili...it's very sweet. Doesn't make a lot so if you are feeding more than 4 or so I might double. We added some shredded cheddar on top of ours after we dished it out...Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
My family did not care for this recipe. I will not try it again - after an hour of cooking in the slow cooker, grease was floating on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I used onions instead of green peppers, syrup instead of molasses and prepared mustard. My family loved this...very similar to what my Mother-in-law use to make but she added 1 tsp. cinnamon. This is also great for scout camp cookouts. Just eat the chili on hamburger or hotdog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States