Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Used turkey bacon and vegetarian beans since my family does not eat pork or pork bacon. This was very good. Wonderful flavors. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was very good. Like others I substituted maple syrup for molasses. I added an onion and a can of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This recipe was great. I did what others suggested and used maple syrup instead of molasses and prepared mustard. I also added a little bit of jalepeno. My kids even loved it. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe. So easy to cook and a wonderful flavor. I used sliced Zucchini in place of the green peppers. I will definetely make again and again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was a big hit. I had doubts about the molasses taste, and used a bit less, but it was quite tasty. I only had pre-cooked bacon on hand, so I chopped it and only cooked it a little to bring out the flavor, but it worked well. Also added chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was a good side dish recipe. It definitely didn't make enough for a meal. I made it as a side for a picnic instead of baked beans and everyone thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennell914

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This is not a Chili, this is a variation on a baked beans recipe that has been around for years. I have been cooking these beans for my family for 37 plus years. I got the recipe from my mother who got it from hers. I use brown sugar not molasses, regular mustard not dry mustard, onion and garlic, along with ground beef and bacon (and some butter). We bake not slow cook. I tried this variation, didnt care as much for it as my own recipe, but they were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Made this for supper tonight. Even with the addition of chopped onion, and a few spices, this was way too sweet for our liking. Not what I would call chili..won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Very simple but quite tasty. Can be modified easily (for example,we omitted the green peppers, added some chopped onions). Kids loved the slightly sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I have to say I'm surprised at how much I liked this! I made it because it seemed easy and kid friendly, which it is, but it's also good! I only made minor changes - I left out the salt and used a 28oz can of beans. I also cooked this on the stovetop, simmering for about 25 minutes, and it worked fine. Needs more bacon, but otherwise it's just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States