Slow Cooker Bean Casserole AKA Sweet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We took this in thermos jars as lunch after the MLK march. It was fantastic to have something hot with just enough zest to please the adults but not so much spice as to discourage the children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was soooo good! I used sea salt because it's better for you and added some red pepper for some spicy flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I used a 28 oz can of baked beans with pork,1 cup of canned diced tomatoes, only 1 lb of ground beef and added onion to green peppers. no molasses. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Simple and Delicious. This dish proved to be a hit with the family. As my family size is a little big, I added an extra 1/2 pound of ground beef, increased the molasses to 1/2 cup, increased baked beans to 22 ozs., and used 6 slices of bacon. I omitted the dry mustard and green bell peppper as I had none on hand and I added chopped onions. It was good and sweet. I served in bowls over Cheese Fries! Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
UPDATE: MADE THIS TO TAKE TO MY NEIGHBOR'S COOKOUT. MY BEANS HATING HUSBAND COMMENTED THAT HE WOULD GLADLY HAVE THESE AGAIN - WHOA! THIS TIME I ADDED 1/4 TSP. GARLIC POWDER / 1/2 TSP. CHILI POWDER (BECAUSE MY GROCER ONLY HAD MILD CHILI BEANS THIS TIME AROUND). I ALSO DID NOT DRAIN THE GREASE FROM MY (LEAN) BEEF AND I THINK THIS MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE. MK This was pretty good, however.... THIS IS NOT CHILI! Think of this as a side dish you’d take to a cookout / BBQ to serve alongside grilled meats. My fiance & I BBQ'd for friends yesterday. This was the perfect complement to our grilled sausages, pub burgers, corn on the cobb, pasta salad and apple pie. Not withstanding the temptation to “change things up a bit,” I too made some (slight) modifications. My fiance doesn’t care for beans (especially sweet bean dishes), but will eat them on occasion. To please his palate, I added a 16 oz. can of chili beans (medium heat) IN ADDITION TO my 15 oz. can of pork n’ beans. Since I thought 1.5 lbs. of ground beef was too much, I only used 1 lb. worth (my grocer only sells 1 lb. pkg. of beef, so that was another reason to cut some of it). My last change was to substitute a sm. yellow onion for the green pepper called for (didn't have the latter). I ended up adding about 1/4 c. of brown sugar to my beans to give them a very slight sweet taste (but not so much so that my hubs would turn up his nose lol!). Thanks for sharing, DKUENSCH! This will become a staple potluck dish for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This is good but I wouldn't even stretch to call it "sweet" chiki. It's pretty much glorified baked beans. Great with brisket or bbq'd chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This recipe served as a good base. It is very easy to tweak to your own tastes. I eliminated the bacon because I didn't have any and instead used 1/2 of 16 oz pkg of beef cocktail smokies halved. Also, instead 1 1/2 ground beef, I used 1lb of ground beef and 1/2 pound of pork breakfast sausage. I added 1 tsp of prepared mustard in addition to the dry mustard, 1 tbs of Worcestershire, 1 tsp of onion powder and used 1 16oz can of Bush's baked beans and one can of black beans rinsed and drained. I also added 1/2 can of water, as I found it to be a little thick. Instead of using the crock-pot, I just cooked it on the stove in a dutch oven. Very tasty recipe, as mentioned before can be easily changed to suit your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAME673

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
My Family Loves this Easy Sweet Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Good, but too sweet and lacking too many other ingredients to be called chili. More of a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Wow, this was really good. Gotta love a recipe that all the kids would eat. Added hot dogs........kids loved that. Paired with Amusement park corn bread from this site. Used 1lb gr. turkey cooked with onion, no pepper, maple syrup, prepared mustard & lg can Bushes baked beans. Recipe is a kid approved keeper. Even hubby ate big bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamma_of_5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States