Slow Cooker Barbequed Pork for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
After shredding the pork, I deviated from the recipe. I used about 1/3 of a bottle of Jack Daniel's bourbon barbecue sauce and mixed it with about 2/3 cup of cooking liquid, 1 Tbs of tomato paste and 2 tbs bourbon. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This recipe is seriously good. Like others I was hesitant about the coffee. Included it anyway. I followed everything exactly except I used a 4.5 lb bone-in pork roast instead of 2.5 boneless. Cooked on low for 7 hours and the meat literally FELL off the bone. I could've shredded it with just a fork the meat was that tender. As far as taste I only wish I would have added more garlic. Having vacationed often in southern Alabama, we pride ourselves on being pulled pork snobs. This recipe did not disappoint! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
My first time making barbeque. We loved it. I didn't have whiskey so I used some dry white wine and used beef boullion instead of beef broth because that is what I had on hand. I added more onion and used minced garlic added all the ingredients and let the pork go for 6 hours. I then took the meat out and used about 1/2 cup of the broth and added sweet baby rays barbeque sauce 2 different bottles. Let that cook on low for 2 hours and it was delicious. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was very good and we certainly did enjoy it. However, I’m thinking it was because of the excellent barbecue sauce I used at the end, not necessarily because of all the ingredients used to cook the roast in. Also, careful with all that liquid! I had a roast just shy of three pounds and used amounts of the ingredients about equivalent to what would be indicated in the recipe scaled to just three servings, not the original twelve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
very time consuming, too many steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Fabulous! Moist, smokey, delicious! I made the recipe exactly as it stated only used all beef broth instead of using any water. The entire family loved it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I love this basic recipes I added to the mix beef stock, 2 bay leaves, some pepper corn and about ¼ cup of beer. I don't really care for off the shelf BBQ sauce. So I made my own In a sauce pan I add ¼ cup balsamic vinegar ¼ cup white mind vinegar ¼ white distilled vinegar 2 table spoons of malted vinegar ¼ cup beer 3 table spoons Worcestershire sauce 4 dashes liquid smoke 1 cup catsup ¼ cup cherry juice 1 table spoon hot sauce ½ table spoon ground mustard Dash of cayenne ½ cup brown sugar ¼ cup honey 4 table spoons chopped onions 1 clove garlic 4 slices of diced bacon And cook it for about an hour on low heat before poring over the BBQ pork As the mix became thicker I added a bit of the liquid from the slow cooker. As a side I made home made coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made this yesterday and it came out fantastic! I used all the ingredients except for the red pepper flakes as my 7-year-old dislikes all pepper. I tweaked a few things, most notably: 1) chopped the garlic instead of whole cloves 2) added 2 tbs of Liquid Smoke 3) I pulled the pork, but didn't discard the liquid. I placed the shredded pork back in the liquid and put the whole pot in the refrigerator over night. Next day, I put in back in the slow cooker and let it warm up for about 2 hours. The shredded pork has now absorbed about 80% of the liquid, leaving it much more moist; additionally, all the chopped onions and garlic are now part of the pork. I then transferred the pork into a large sautee pan, added the BBQ sauce, and put in a covered outdoor grill for about an hour, with the temp fluctuating between 350 and 400 degrees. That is the key move: letting the BBQ really cook into the meat. It was phenomenally delicious and juicy, served in small Hawaiian sweet rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was great, I've never made barbeque pork before. I only changed the recipe a little, skipped the whiskey and added 3/4c Coca Cola instead, reduced the coffee to 3/4c. I also reduced the amount of broth and skipped the water due to the size of my crock pot. Because of my work schedule, I had to cook the roast on Low for 10 hours, but that didn't seem to cause a problem. My husband loved it, so did my kids (all under 9)! Definitely making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Family loved it! I thought that 2 bottles of BBQ sauce was too much so I only put one, I think 1 1/2 would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States