Slow Cooker Barbequed Beef Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Delicious. Made it 2 days in a row! Yesterday, I pretty much followed the recipe, except I didn't have vinegar so I substituted it with apple juice. Today, instead of 2 lbs. I made 5 lbs. using the same measurements. There was plenty of sauce and the beef ribs were fantastic. My husband, his brother, and mother all loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noy Ybarra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I bought pork ribs and went to prepare them for the slow cooker in the morning when I realized that I did not have BBQ sauce! I never made BBQ sauce from scratch before so I checked Allrecipes.com like I always do. I chose this one because I had all the ingredients on hand. It was VERY good! I doubled the recipe...and I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper to give it a little spice with the sweetness. I would do as another poster said and omit the water. It was too liquid for me, I like a thicker sauce. Oh, I also added some honey. Its not too sweet at all. I would actually add more brown sugar next time, and honey, along with the cayenne pepper. This is a great base BBQ sauce to tweak however you like! I also broiled the ribs first like I always do. And I added a large onion to the crock pot. Cooked it on low for 7 hours and it was delish! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegvg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was super easy and super good! The only change I would make for next time would be to NOT add the water, because it really thins out the sauce. I took the advice of other reviewers and seared the meat for a few minutes before adding them to the slow cooker. Also, I would trim the fat beforehand, because it was messy to try and do it afterwards. Yummy, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I just tried this recipe yesterday and it turned out fantastic. I think next time I may cut back on the mustard or use Dijon instead. I am not a huge fan of mustard and you can definitely smell it and taste some of it. There is a touch of bitterness to the BBQ sauce but nothing that would overall ruin the dish. I would definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great Ribs I did use country pork ribs instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe came out terrific. I seasoned the ribs with salt and pepper then seared them on all sides before adding them to the Slow Cooker. The searing made for a nice, caramelized crust on the outside of the ribs. Cooked these for 7 hours on Low. There was some grease so I simply absorbed it off the top using tongs and a paper towel. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was delicious! I only did a couple of things different. I used apple cider vinegar because that's what we had, added a little pepper and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Simple, easy, and tasty. Definitely a winner! I didn't have an oven to work with where I was cooking so a number of the other slow cooker recipes that required pre-braising and the like didn't work for me. I made it pretty much exactly as written except for cooking on high for about five hours. Everyone enjoyed it and I'll be adding it to my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
My family loved this. I did make some changes based on previous reviews: Seared the beef short ribs in olive oil. Beer instead of water, Added: honey, cayenne pepper, dried onion. Toward the end, I thickened the sauce with some flour/cornstarch. Served it on some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Easy and really good. Made as directed, except I did brown my ribs before putting in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States