Slow Cooker Barbequed Beef Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
It sounds like it would be too sweet, but in the end it is just perfect. Great for the upcoming fall and winter seasons, fantastic aromas you can use up to 3 lbs of short ribs, with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunapee, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Orford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I would definitely sear the ribs first next time and would also leave the water out of the sauce. The flavor was really good, but we prefer a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Good and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe came out terrific. I seasoned the ribs with salt and pepper then seared them on all sides before adding them to the Slow Cooker. The searing made for a nice, caramelized crust on the outside of the ribs. Cooked these for 7 hours on Low. There was some grease so I simply absorbed it off the top using tongs and a paper towel. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I bought pork ribs and went to prepare them for the slow cooker in the morning when I realized that I did not have BBQ sauce! I never made BBQ sauce from scratch before so I checked Allrecipes.com like I always do. I chose this one because I had all the ingredients on hand. It was VERY good! I doubled the recipe...and I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper to give it a little spice with the sweetness. I would do as another poster said and omit the water. It was too liquid for me, I like a thicker sauce. Oh, I also added some honey. Its not too sweet at all. I would actually add more brown sugar next time, and honey, along with the cayenne pepper. This is a great base BBQ sauce to tweak however you like! I also broiled the ribs first like I always do. And I added a large onion to the crock pot. Cooked it on low for 7 hours and it was delish! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegvg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Easy and really good. Made as directed, except I did brown my ribs before putting in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was super easy and super good! The only change I would make for next time would be to NOT add the water, because it really thins out the sauce. I took the advice of other reviewers and seared the meat for a few minutes before adding them to the slow cooker. Also, I would trim the fat beforehand, because it was messy to try and do it afterwards. Yummy, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
My family loved this. I did make some changes based on previous reviews: Seared the beef short ribs in olive oil. Beer instead of water, Added: honey, cayenne pepper, dried onion. Toward the end, I thickened the sauce with some flour/cornstarch. Served it on some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Simple, easy, and tasty. Definitely a winner! I didn't have an oven to work with where I was cooking so a number of the other slow cooker recipes that required pre-braising and the like didn't work for me. I made it pretty much exactly as written except for cooking on high for about five hours. Everyone enjoyed it and I'll be adding it to my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
There was way too much sauce and I even used 3 lbs of ribs instead of 2. Good flavor, just too much. Also, I don't know if it was just the ribs I got or if all beef ribs are this way, but there was no meat on them! After they cooked, there was about an inch of fat in a wide six qt. slow cooker and maybe a bite of meat on each rib, if that. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States