Slow Cooker Barbequed Beef Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
It sounds like it would be too sweet, but in the end it is just perfect. Great for the upcoming fall and winter seasons, fantastic aromas you can use up to 3 lbs of short ribs, with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I would definitely sear the ribs first next time and would also leave the water out of the sauce. The flavor was really good, but we prefer a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Good and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This recipe came out terrific. I seasoned the ribs with salt and pepper then seared them on all sides before adding them to the Slow Cooker. The searing made for a nice, caramelized crust on the outside of the ribs. Cooked these for 7 hours on Low. There was some grease so I simply absorbed it off the top using tongs and a paper towel. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I bought pork ribs and went to prepare them for the slow cooker in the morning when I realized that I did not have BBQ sauce! I never made BBQ sauce from scratch before so I checked Allrecipes.com like I always do. I chose this one because I had all the ingredients on hand. It was VERY good! I doubled the recipe...and I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper to give it a little spice with the sweetness. I would do as another poster said and omit the water. It was too liquid for me, I like a thicker sauce. Oh, I also added some honey. Its not too sweet at all. I would actually add more brown sugar next time, and honey, along with the cayenne pepper. This is a great base BBQ sauce to tweak however you like! I also broiled the ribs first like I always do. And I added a large onion to the crock pot. Cooked it on low for 7 hours and it was delish! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegvg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Easy and really good. Made as directed, except I did brown my ribs before putting in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Simple, easy, and tasty. Definitely a winner! I didn't have an oven to work with where I was cooking so a number of the other slow cooker recipes that required pre-braising and the like didn't work for me. I made it pretty much exactly as written except for cooking on high for about five hours. Everyone enjoyed it and I'll be adding it to my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
My family loved this. I did make some changes based on previous reviews: Seared the beef short ribs in olive oil. Beer instead of water, Added: honey, cayenne pepper, dried onion. Toward the end, I thickened the sauce with some flour/cornstarch. Served it on some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was super easy and super good! The only change I would make for next time would be to NOT add the water, because it really thins out the sauce. I took the advice of other reviewers and seared the meat for a few minutes before adding them to the slow cooker. Also, I would trim the fat beforehand, because it was messy to try and do it afterwards. Yummy, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I’m realistic and realize that slow cooker ribs are not going to be as good as grilled, however these are so easy, tender, moist and tasty, they are very, very respectable and well worth the effort. I used bison ribs and it worked out extremely well. Next time I’ll sear them on the grill before serving just to get a little of that char flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States