Slow Cooker Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Honestly I have no idea how something so simply can taste so wonderful! I found some chicken thighs on sale and wasn't quite sure what to do with them. Came across this recipe and followed as posted. As soon as I took the first bite, I knew that I was taking a plate for lunch the next day. The flavor was amazing! I read some of the comments about the watery sauce, that didn't bother us as we were going for the bbq flavor and not the actually sauce itself. Although I would recommend if it's too watery to pour some sauce on top of the chicken once out the crock pot and maybe even crisp it in the oven... My boyfriend, who for some some strange reason is obsessed with Gold Carrol's bbq chicken, told me this recipe was 10x better than G.C.'s... In this household trust me that's a compliment! (Everything I make is compared to them). This will be my go to for indoor bbq chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I used frozen chicken breasts - cooked on high for one hour turned down to low for 3 hours. Added a tablespoon of honey. I was very nervous about the vinegar but it cooked down. The red pepper flakes gave it a little spice with the sweet. Excellent! Next time I will place the chicken on the grill to crisp it up. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe turned out to be amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryant Warhurst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I did something different. I added fresh chopped sweet onions & fresh garlic with white wine. Removed powder onion. Let that Simmer for 1 hour. Then added the rest of the ingredients. I removed distilled white vinegar and added apple cider vinegar instead in slow cooker. Once they are mixed, added chicken thighs with no skin and with bone. Turned heat to Low. Oh Boy! my house smells good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Everyone loved it! I used regular chicken and the meat fell right off the bones! I didn't have red pepper flakes but it still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I liked this, but I did with it what I do with another recipe...I put the chicken in plain first (spray crock with cooking spray), let it cook for 3-4 hours on HIGH, DRAIN it, then add the sauce & continue to cook on HIGH for about 30 min. to 1 hr. longer. This way, it isn't too watery! The chicken is so tender made this way, my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I didn't mix the ingredients together in a bowl (to save a dish), just poured them on top of the chicken breasts and mixed them around with the chicken breasts as they cooked. I used two enormous frozen chicken breasts and they were done in less than six hours, so I don't think the cooking time is accurate. As for the problem with the sauce being watery, I noticed that and solved it by cracking the lid on the crock pot (about 1" or so) for the last hr. they cooked, turning them once, so the sauce could reduce and carmelize a bit. They were delicious, but next time I think I'll add more chicken, because there was a lot of sauce. Served it with garlic butter rice and corn, and it was a big hit with the kids! I just hope my crock pot comes clean after soaking all day and night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
All my hubby could say was Oh Honey Oh Honey, we have a large family and every one loved this im about to make it for the second time this week thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Mine ended up with watery BBQ juice and my chicken wasn't very moist. I did cut my pieces a little smaller than keeping them in whole breasts, but I don't think that attributed to the watery juicy. May give it another try....don't know. Not a thrill of a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this today, and it was very good. I used chicken leg quarters because that's what I had. I served it with broccoli mac & cheese and corn on the cob. It was perfect for a Monday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States