Slow Cooker Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I really loved how simple this was. I didn't have high expectations for the taste but it was really good. I didn't even have to preseason the chicken. Straight out the package and into the slow cooker. Tonight I'm trying it on ribs. The only thing I changed is I didn't add much sugar. Maybe a tablespoon if that. The sauce is already sweet enough to me. Update: I tried it with pork ribs tonight and it was just a a good as with the chicken. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEXAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This recipe was so easy to make! I threw it together in just a few minutes before I left for work. Not sure how it tastes because my family forgot to save me some and ate it all up before I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Honestly I have no idea how something so simply can taste so wonderful! I found some chicken thighs on sale and wasn't quite sure what to do with them. Came across this recipe and followed as posted. As soon as I took the first bite, I knew that I was taking a plate for lunch the next day. The flavor was amazing! I read some of the comments about the watery sauce, that didn't bother us as we were going for the bbq flavor and not the actually sauce itself. Although I would recommend if it's too watery to pour some sauce on top of the chicken once out the crock pot and maybe even crisp it in the oven... My boyfriend, who for some some strange reason is obsessed with Gold Carrol's bbq chicken, told me this recipe was 10x better than G.C.'s... In this household trust me that's a compliment! (Everything I make is compared to them). This will be my go to for indoor bbq chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Everyone loved it! I used regular chicken and the meat fell right off the bones! I didn't have red pepper flakes but it still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I didn't mix the ingredients together in a bowl (to save a dish), just poured them on top of the chicken breasts and mixed them around with the chicken breasts as they cooked. I used two enormous frozen chicken breasts and they were done in less than six hours, so I don't think the cooking time is accurate. As for the problem with the sauce being watery, I noticed that and solved it by cracking the lid on the crock pot (about 1" or so) for the last hr. they cooked, turning them once, so the sauce could reduce and carmelize a bit. They were delicious, but next time I think I'll add more chicken, because there was a lot of sauce. Served it with garlic butter rice and corn, and it was a big hit with the kids! I just hope my crock pot comes clean after soaking all day and night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I did something different. I added fresh chopped sweet onions & fresh garlic with white wine. Removed powder onion. Let that Simmer for 1 hour. Then added the rest of the ingredients. I removed distilled white vinegar and added apple cider vinegar instead in slow cooker. Once they are mixed, added chicken thighs with no skin and with bone. Turned heat to Low. Oh Boy! my house smells good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Simple and so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
All my hubby could say was Oh Honey Oh Honey, we have a large family and every one loved this im about to make it for the second time this week thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I used frozen chicken breasts - cooked on high for one hour turned down to low for 3 hours. Added a tablespoon of honey. I was very nervous about the vinegar but it cooked down. The red pepper flakes gave it a little spice with the sweet. Excellent! Next time I will place the chicken on the grill to crisp it up. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this today, and it was very good. I used chicken leg quarters because that's what I had. I served it with broccoli mac & cheese and corn on the cob. It was perfect for a Monday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States