Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I thought this recipe was very good...but I didn't care for all the ingredients needed for the results. It tasted similar to what I tend to do for slow cooker ribs. I simplyt seasoned the ribs with garlic salt, onion powder, and black pepper; place in the crock pot and cover the ribs with a half a bottle of KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. I let the ribs cook on low for about 8-10 hours. Then I place them in the oven on a baking sheet for a half hour so that the sauce caramelizes onto the meat. It works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
The genius of this recipe is the first step - roasting ribs in the oven. This removes fat and liquid that would otherwise cause soupy results in the crockpot. For this, it deserves 5 stars!! Use any sauce (I like 1 C. ketchup, 1 C. Stubb's barbecue sauce, 2 T. brown sugar, 1 t. Worcestershire, and Tabasco hot sauce to taste.) The original sauce recipe (which I've tried) isn't sharp or hot enough for our tastes. We use boneless beef chuck country ribs, 2 lbs. or more. Stir once during cooking time so ribs don't stick to sides and burn. To thicken sauce a bit, put the crockpot on High, with the lid ajar, during the last half hour. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
The sauce tastes alot like ketchup. It is not horrible but it is below average. Do not make this recipe because if you read all of the reviews, no one actually made it by the recipe! Everyone changed it to BBQ sauce..so they should not have rated it higher than a star or two. No one hwo made it by recipe liked it. Just slow cook in your favorite bbq sauce, you will be 100% happier! But slow cooking th emeat that long is FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This rib recipe convinced my dinner guest that he needs a slow cooker! I substituted the 2 cup equivalent of my favorite BBQ sauce for the ketchup and they were delicious. I would also recommend rotating the ribs halfway through the cooking process if possible so that all the ribs are equally tender. This just became my favorite slow cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
635 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
OH MY GOSH--these were the most incredible ribs I have ever tasted, in or out of a restaraunt! I followed other reviewers' advice and substituted bbq sauce for the ketchup, (2 cups) and ketchup for the chili sauce. (1 cup) I cut back on the vinegar to 2 1/2 Tbsp. just because I thought 4 Tbsp. was a lot. I also left out the hot sauce, simply because I didn't have any on hand. I used boneless Country Style Ribs. I couldn't get them out of the crock pot in one piece, they were soo tender! Thank you so much for this recipe, it is definitely one of the BEST on this site!!! I would HIGHLY reccommend trying this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
602 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKIIEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Five stars for the crock pot suggestion. Best prep is simmering ribs in water bath (with minced garlic, seasoned salt & Emeril's southwestern spice), for 20 minutes; then prepare BBQ sauce of choice (approx 2 cups), add to drained ribs and cook in crock pot for 5-6 hours on low. Remove from crock pot and brown ribs on grill or under broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
591 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berala, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
This was soooooo good. I substitued half of the ketchup with BBQ sauce and used red wine vinegar and it came out better than ribs at some of the restaurants. My husband is a great ribs fan so will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This recipe was as good as the other reviews indicated. I implemented the variations suggested by others such as substituting BBQ sauce for half of the ketchup, adding garlic salt, using red wine vinegar and adding a little liquid smoke. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This was an awesome dish!!! I have recently been to three rib burn-off's and Suzanne's recipe was well worthy of competing! I did, however, add a little bit of garlic powder to the pork before cooking, and I added garlic to the sauce. (By the way, the sauce was PERFECT! No more will I buy BBQ sauce, this recipe blows Open Pitt and KC Masterpiece out of the water!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I always get told I make the bestest ribs from soldiers thanks to this recipe! FIRST, do not ignore the baking in the oven first b/c it removed 1/2" of fat juice in a 9X13 pan!!! THEN, it was hard to decide what sauce to follow since there were a lot of choices suggested, so I went to the most reliable (top rated on the site) called Sylvia's Ribs b/c why ruin perfect ribs?! Basically, dump 2C ketchup, 1C bbq 1C brown sugar, 2.5T lemon juice, 2t Worcestershire, several dashes of hot pepper, 3T steak sauce, cloves garlic ...directly into crockpot. LASTLY, most of the sauces used will be thin in the end, so definitely take out and put in oven at 375 for 20 min to caramelize the sauce onto the ribs (make sure ribs are covered in sauce when you put in oven). These were perfect! You will be a hero if you have a house full of men like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States