Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Even though I went a different route as far as ingredients, I have to rate this a 5 for the technique. I have made ribs in the slow cooker before, but the meat just didn't have the right consistency. That first step is the key. Also, not mentioned but equally important, be sure to remove the skin from the backside of the ribs. It's tough and won't break down, even when cooked low and slow. These ribs were fall-off-the-bone tender but still had a little bite to them. They were some of the very best ribs my wife and I have ever eaten. As for the ingredients, I used a pork rub on the ribs before I put them in the oven. A bottle of mustard-based BBQ sauce with one cup of ketchup were mixed with the remaining ingredients as listed. I also added some dried minced onion to the sauce. I think I'm going to add a little liquid smoke to them, next time, to make them taste a little more "authentic".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texican

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Manvel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This recipe was really good. The meat was really nice and tender. But it takes a long time to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Not really a fan of barbeque ribs, but this is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
If you want fall off the bone ribs this is a great recipe. The secret is to cook the ribs as indicated in the oven first to get some fat off, then you can add your own BBQ sauce or follow the recipe. I usually make my own with BBQ sauce,ketchup,worchesterchire, hot sauce, brown sugar & red wine vinegar to my liking. The kids love these ribs everytime I make them and its so easy with the crock pot. Set it in the morning and come home to a dinner that is easy to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arubagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was decent in taste and certainly simple to prepare. I would recommend this for anyone who doesn't have the time to cook ribs on a grill or who just wants a filling meal with little fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
As others mentioned, loved the technique but love my Bullseye BBQ sauce. Used 3.46 pounds (1 big rack) which only made barely enough for 4 people, so I feel like the serving size was off unless 2 ribs a person is normal. I suggest spending the time to carve most of the fat up front. It will make the eating more enjoyable. The meat comes out sooooo moist and tender. Will try other's suggestions of baking with a fresh layer of BBQ sauce to carmelize the sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Tender and juicy ribs! So easy to prepare and to spice up depending on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I made a little change and used 1 1/2 C of chili sauce and 4 dashes of hot sauce. I also use country ribs because they are meatier and juicier than baby backs. I often get asked to make this recipe when we have get togethers with friends and/or family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
tried to make ribs for the first time tonight....there is a very good reason this has over 1,000 great reviews! awesome! i didn't have 8 hrs, so i cooked on high for 1 hr and then switched to low... by hour 5-6 it was falling off the bone-yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
easy and delicious. Doesnt get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States