Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by vasherg
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have never made fall-off-the-bone pork ribs before....until now! These were GREAT! I followed the suggestions of several posters and used my favorite BBQ sauce instead of the ketchup, and the ketchup instead of the chili sauce (I still put a bit in though), and I also skimped a bit on the brown sugar which I wont do again. I doubled the mix because I cooked 2 racks of ribs and it worked fine. I slow cooked them for 7 hours and the ribs were almost too tender. Next time I will only leave them in the crock pot for 6.5 hours. I caramelized my sauce onto the ribs by broiling them for 10-12 minutes...I highly recommend doing this. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was a great recipe I have already made it three times. I did substitute half of the ketchup with BBQ sauce and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Rockstar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Wow, wow and wow!!! It's been many years since I made bbq and if I would've had this recipe back then I would've made it regularly. My variation from the recipe is that I used a little chili sauce, and put only a squirt of ketchup in it and used a whole bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's bbq sauce, along with a variety of herbs/seasongs. I think the ribs I bought was almost 3 lbs, salt/pepper and baked at 400 deg for 20 mins on each side, then cooked in crock pot for 3 hrs on high, saturated with sauce from crock pot then put back in the oven to carmelize for 30 mins. My only regret is that I didn't make more! I give this recipe 5 stars for the simplicity but 4 stars because I tweaked it to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These were delicious! The meat fell right off the bone. They were falling apart while I was removing them from the slow cooker. This will definitely be a repeat dinner in our house. Thanks for a great alternative to baking and grilling ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I love this recipe just the way it stands. To me there is nothing worse than bottled BBQ sauce. This recipe reminds me of how Mom used to make ribs. Try it you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Do not use the sauce recipe. It just tastes like ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I used our favorite BBQ sauce and cut the ribs into serving size portions so the rack would fit in my slow cooker. My boys thought they was excellent. I precooked the ribs per the recipe's instructions, but they were falling off the bone tender. I obviously couldn't put them in the oven to caramelize as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I decided to read a lot of reviews before making any changes to the recipe. I added my own favorite BBQ sauce, Sweet Baby Ray Spciy, and kept the remaining ingredients. I was a little getting started, so I began cooking on high for the first 2 1\2 hours then on low for 5 hours. The meat was very tender and practically falling off the bone. Some people chose to bash the recipe but it's probably best to read reviews so you can make your own decision as far as ingredients. Also, each slow cooker's temp settings are different. I've had cheaper slow cookers in the past and have found cooking times are longer with the cheaper models.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
excellent fall-off-the-bone ribs, but beware, they are HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
BF loved it! Yes, I too substituted BBQ sauce for ketchup, and ketchup for chili sauce, and a big squirt of Sriracha. I also baked them first AND afterwards for extra caramelization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States