Slow-Cooker Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I've never had success with ribs...until now. This was, hands down the tastiest, easiest recipe I've found for pork. I initially was going to use store bought bbq sauce, but followed the directions (well a bit extra hot sauce) and it was absolutely delish! Tender, flavorful and a huge hit with my picky eater husband. In fact it will be what's on the menu for his birthday celebration this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this yesterday for super and they turned out great. The meat was falling off the bones and the sauce WOW! My boyfriend says they were almost like the ones at the restaurant Baton Rouge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious and fell off the bone but was a little too sweet for my taste. I prefer more spice so I will cut the brown sugar in half and add some red pepper flakes or cajun seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
As written, this is just average as far as the taste of the sauce. The ribs themselves were tender and wonderful. But to make this the five star recipe that most are rating it (even though they admit in their reviews that they rated it so high AFTER making the following change) then just substitute your favorite BBQ sauce for the ketchup sauce called for in the recipe. That one simple change truly does make this a five star recipe and one that you are sure to make again and again! Also, I pulled them out of the crock pot after four hours on low and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The cooking method is good, though cook time is too long. Mine were done at about 4 hours in the crock pot, thankfully I was home to notice and turned it to warm till dinner time. Sauce could use some work. Not as good as ribs on the smoker but I will definitely use this method again when I need an easy crock pot meal the whole family will eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
So good. Easy to tweak for my family's taste. Ribs were so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Way too much vinegar for my taste. I followed some of the other reviewers and used only 2 tbsp of vinegar and it was still way too sour. Also, the cook time was too long if you sear the ribs first. They're already mostly cooked in the oven, so they would only need 3 - 4 hours in the slow cooker to cook in the sauce. I used bbq sauce in place of the ketchup and salsa in place of the chili sauce. Doubt I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Terrific and easy! Be sure to pay attention to how spicy the chili sauce you use is, and adjust for your taste. Extremely tender and the whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This recipe ended up tasting way too strongly of ketchup, if I were to make it again, I would substitue BBQ for the ketchup. That being said, I will probably find a different recipe the next time we have ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
REALLY good recipe -- a KEEPER!! My wife has never liked ribs - or at least has never praised mine! I've got numerous recipes and a REALLY nice smoker but they never got an "attaboy". This recipe WORKED! I read numerous reviews and used the beer instead of water, cooked on high for 4 hours, and used the 20 min / 350F oven + 7 min on broil cook. They were beautiful, tender, and tasty. Got that "attaboy" I needed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States