Slow Cooker Barbecue Goose Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
One of the best recipes I've tried for goose, but fairly traditional. I used chicken stock to make the chicken broth and substituted 10 oz of the water with coke classic (helps break down the chicken/tenderize) and added a bit of Cabernet Sauvignon when stir frying the onions and garlic, turned out great. Used fresh meat shot earlier in the day. All hunters should add this to their recipe books. Removes the "gamey" flavor and cooks to taste more like red meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
We used Canadian Goose for this recipe and it turned out great. The goose did not taste gamey at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newport, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is by far the best recipe I have ever used to cook goose, normally I can't stomach the gamey flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. I was so so pleased with the outcome, honestly I was shocked it was so good! It didn't even taste like goose. Everyone who ate this LOVED it!!!! I wont eat goose any other way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
we made this when my uncle shot a goose and nobody in our family of deer hunters knew what to do with it. came out nice, and it actually works well with deer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I dont like goose and I really liked this. It tastes more like beef when prepared this way. I did not change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Add me to the list of satisfied cooks! I can't wait to take this to my parent's to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Perfect! Everyone loved it! I left mine cooking for 8 hours and it shredded perfectly! I suggest some Jack Daniels smoked brown sugar BBQ sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is so good! I had to cheat a little since I work really long hours so I wouldn’t be coming home for at least 10 hours. I added everything to the crock pot the night before (except the goose) and stuck it in the fridge. In the morning, I took it out, put in a frozen goose breast and set it on low to cook for 10 hours. The breast was boneless/skinless and from a wild goose (my father hunts so it’s his meat that he butchers that I use) so I was a little scared I would be overcooking it. When I got home, the kitchen smelled wonderful and the meat was moist and simply fell apart. I tried some before I mixed in the BBQ sauce and it was full of flavor. Served it with oven baked fries and a broccoli slaw (to people who had no idea what meat it was) and was told it was the best pulled meat sandwich they’ve ever had. This was a much healthier and cheaper alternative to pulled pork sandwiches for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this for a game dinner and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe..then I decided, why not try with a reg. roast..it was perfect! I added a can of mushrooms and my son thought it was better than pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
it needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States