Slow Cooker Barbecue Goose Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Great way to make the geese my husband shoots taste good. I was a bit unsure, because the only other time I've eaten goose, it tasted like mud, but this really tastes great. Oh, we do soak the raw goose meat in ice water for a few days before cooking. I'm told this draws out the blood which is where most of the gamey flavor comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My friend found this recipe 9 years ago and I've never tried another one. We eat goose at least 5 times a year. It's better than beef roast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was asked to cook a goose and was skeptical, although I've enjoyed many types of game. Decided to try this recipe for the breast meat and a Julia Child's recipe for the rest. This was awesome! The other recipe was okay too but this was waaay easier and actually better. If you expect goose to be greasey or gamey= try this. You'll be glad you did! Good with madeira wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
What a great way to prepare goose! I used two Canada Goose breasts and followed the recipe exactly as stated. I used a miniature (1.5 quart) slow cooker, so next time I think I will cook it on "Low" the whole time, as "High" seemed to have been too high for the meat. I had to shred it with forks, but it was absolutely delicious on toasted buns. We used Jack Daniel's Hickory Brown Sugar BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe is excellent. I'm so glad we tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Followed this recipe to the "T" with goose and it was awsome. Husband is a deer hunter and thought to try it with portions of the hind quarter. Only thing I added was diced raw bacon to the crockpot, to add fat content. Was a hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This recipes has been a life saver. My husband is an avid waterfowl hunter and our freezer is consistently stocked with geese...and recipes are hard to find! Young birds often taste wonderful cooked other ways, but older birds often taste tough and gamey. This is the solution. There is virtually no waste - I throw the goose breats and legs in the crockpot, cook as indicated and the meat falls off when cooled off. The possibilities are endless after that. We add melted cheese and toast the buns. I have even pre made this, thrown it in a cooler and taken it camping - it re-heats beautifully. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I did not have any goose but this recipe worked very well with duck. I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Brian - Thank you for the great recipe! Truth be told this was my first time cooking goose and I was prepared for the worst and was pleasantly surprised. My in-laws where coming to town and I told them they could pick up dinner on the way or eat with us and I was surprised again that my MIL wanted to try it. We didn't tell my FIL until after he ate his sandwich and he was thrilled and went back for more! lol Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Ohmygoodness - perfect recipe on a cold day. I threw it in the crockpot before church and by the time we made it home even the garage smelled awesome. Kept all the same except put it on black bean & salsa bread and grilled on the panini maker - served with marinated garlic on the side. I will always use this recipe! I just need more hunters in my life! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States