Slow Cooker Barbecue Goose Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2003
A great way to cook all that goose my husband brings home from hunting! The goose was very tender and fell apart on the plate. It really needs the BBQ sauce, the goose didn't have much flavor without it. I cooked 2 goose breasts and left the second to marinade in BBQ sauce overnight. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
I skinned and cut up a whole goose and stuffed it into my slow cooker. Tender, succulent, tasty. I served it with mashed potatoes. It was great - definately a five star way to cook goose. It'll be a long time before I bake goose in the oven again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I don't like goose, but I made this for my husband, and he LOVES it! He ate it for three days (and he doesn't eat leftovers) and then I froze the rest. He was so excited to learn that I had some stashed away. He can't wait til hunting season next year to get more geese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Not a big fan of goose but loved this recipe. I cooked two breasts, used 3-15oz cans of Chicken Broth and 1/4 cup Worchester sauce. It does not have that strong goose flavor. We ate it as a cold sandwich as well as open faced with the the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
My husband is a HUGE goose hunter and we have a freezer full of goose breasts. This is so easy and VERY good. I even enjoy it and I don't like goose that much. I like to add the sauteed onions and garlic to the slow cooker....gives it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
My son is quite an avid hunter and I am always looking for recipes for the game that he brings home. I made this for him and his roommate and they thought that it was excellent. I shared this with another mother of hunters and they enjoyed it very much also. If you like wild game this is a very good and a easy recipe to try. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Wow! Thanks for sharing! My husband has friends who regularly share their duck and/or goose breasts with us after their hunting trips. Not being a hunting family ourselves they "gamey" flavor was too strong for the kids and sometimes even for us. I made this for my husband, and now we all are finding ourselves enjoying goose breast. I skipped the sauteing step, as the onions will still caramelize when cooked this long in a crock pot. I also threw all the breasts in to cook in one large batch. I cooked about 6 goose breasts and 10 duck breasts together ( I used about 6 onions total), and threw in 6 heads of garlic (yes, heads not cloves) with the tops cut off. Since the garlic was not minced, but whole it gave it a mellow garlic flavor instead of harsh / bitter. I used kosher salt , pepper, and water in lieu of the broth since I find the salt in broth gets too intense after cooking that long. I cooked on high for about 9 hours and low for another 1 1/2 since I had so much meat (the bones had already been removed during the butchering process). I removed the meat to a cutting board to shred. The duck was the consistency of pulled pork, so it was cooked to perfection. The goose was the texture of properly cooked beef brisket, so tender but not "fork tender". Once shredded, I put all the meat in a pan with a couple of spoonfuls of the drippings and then the bbq sauce ( drippings keeps the bbq sauce from being too thick without making it runny). Great meat we love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This was pretty good. I've never had goose before & we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I was asked to cook a goose and was skeptical, although I've enjoyed many types of game. Decided to try this recipe for the breast meat and a Julia Child's recipe for the rest. This was awesome! The other recipe was okay too but this was waaay easier and actually better. If you expect goose to be greasey or gamey= try this. You'll be glad you did! Good with madeira wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I am not a fan of goose, but this was pretty tasty. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States