Slow Cooker Barbecue Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Very good! Made exactly as written... except I added 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. of ground cayenne pepper. For the hot sauce, I used both traditional Tabasco and Frank's Red Hot. The balance between sweet and spicy, along with the liquid smoke, made this dish have a complexity of flavors; yet none were overpowering. They were a great side to my slow-cooked baby back ribs and corn on the cob. 'Twas a hit with the whole crew. Will make again... for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I didn't add the liquid smoke because I didn't have any on hand. I used 1 can of dark kidney beans and 1 can of light kidney beans instead of lima beans. I also decreased the salt and added about 3 tablespoons of brown sugar. I think it was pretty sweet and will probably only add 1 or 2 Tablespoons next time. My husband absolutely loved this recipe...and he is hard to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
These are wonderful! I made them for our family gathering; everyone loved them! I did make some small changes though. I browned bacon & beef together, then added the onions. I changed the beans as followed: 1 can beans w/ pork, instead of 2. 1 can red kidney beans, 1 can black beans, 1 can northern beans. Divided the ketchup with 1/2 BBQ sauce. No liquid smoke. Extra garlic! It is now a family favorite...thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Great recipe. I take it to all the summer picnics and everyone loves it. I have also halved the ground beef and added sausage instead.So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
As is, this is a pretty good recipe. But, since i think it has room for improvement, I'll give 4 stars. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will use slightly less liquid smoke flavoring and salt, and probably substitute some honey bbq sauce for the ketchup. Might try using dry beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Love it but I substituted 4 cans of Buch's Beans for kidney,lima and regular baked beans and the flavor is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxGrillGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Mira Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
we were having a potluck at a friends house and needed something easy but yet quick! I saw this recipe and decided to give it a try! Glad I did....it was the talk of the party! Used less salt and no ketchup, but loved the flavor with BBQ sauce and brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
They were very good. I added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar just because I was in the mood for something sweet, but they were tasty even before I did that. Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Love this recipe wonderful base and you can play with it. I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar and 4tbls. yellow mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States