Slow Cooker Barbecue Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Excellent! Got rave reviews at a potluck as is. The next time, I used chili sauce instead of ketchup, 2 tbsps of dry mustard, and a 1/4 cup each of brown sugar and molassas. That was a sweeter version that the kids liked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I now make this with half ground beef and half ground sausage. Tastes awesome! *********** I have made this for 2 different events/potlucks and each time i got SOOO many compliments. I think these are the best barbecue beans i've eaten. It yields a lot though so if you are making it for the family as a side dish, i would half it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackiW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Love this recipe! Every time I make these beans I get asked for the recipe and receive many compliments. I love cooking things in the slow cooker because you can put the beans and the slow cooker and forget them until they are ready. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Only a couple small changes....1TB of salt as listed is too much sodium/used 1 tsp and as other posters noted it needs brown sugar and added 1/3 of a cup. 5 stars with less salt/add brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trishie
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trishie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good. Well worth the effort to cook the onions ahead of time along with the bacon and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teesdale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I made it for a BBQ yesterday and everyone loved it. The only changes I made were using 1/2 cup ketchup and 1/2 BBQ sauce (with a little mustard mixed in) instead of all ketchup. And I used 1 can of light and one can of dark kidney beans and omitted the lima beans. I did add some brown sugar as others suggested and it was a hit! People have been asking me for the recipe all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tucker, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Awesome! I did add about 1/4-1/3 cup of brown sugar though. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was not good and a waste of ingredients! This had way too much liquid smoke flavor and desperately needed brown sugar. Unfortunately will not make again even with altered ingredients - it was that bad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this recipe and I added 1/2 cup brown sugar and one can of great northern beans (drained) and I reduced the liquid smoke to 1/2 tablespoon. This was really good. I actually served it as a meal with cornbread. My husband loved it and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States