Slow Cooker Bananas Foster Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Yum! We put honey whiskey instead of rum, and reduced the sugar to 1/8 cup and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badnana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
FANTASTIC!!! serve on cake too..if ice cream, add drizzled chocolate and whipped cream!!!!WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The flavor of this sauce was great, well worth putting it all in a crock pot for 2 hours and having it just be ready on demand. But I have to agree with another reviewer that the bananas became a bit rubbery... not that it wasn't edible, but I don't think you gain much from cooking banana slices for 2 hours, I will definitely add them at the end next time just to warm them up before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I make this with rice syrup for a somewhat healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this exact to the recipe and did not care for it at all. It had a slight bitter/sour taste that was not pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Regarding the bananas turning to mush: get slightly green bananas....don't get already ripe fruit, it definitely makes a difference. Just common sense. Actually, I think it would be better to make the sauce, then add the bananas at the last 15 minutes or so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Thanks for the terrific recipe, Jerry! I quickly added the ingredients to my crockpot, and I turned it on Low for an hour or so. I doubled the recipe to make enough for about 11 at my bunco group last night. They loved it, and I had some left over to add to butter pecan ice cream tonight. This recipe met all my needs: delicious, easy, and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was easy and good. I did use bananas that were not quite ripe - still a bit green. I used rum extract and a full stick of butter. I think next time I will use fully ripe- not over ripe- bananas. They did not brown, and did not mush up like some reviewers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this tonight. I doubled the ingredients minus the rum (didn't have any) and it turned out really good. My only problem is that it didn't get as thick as I thought it should be. (prob my fault, I only cooked it for 45 minutes bc the bananas started to get soft but i think 2 hours is over doing it..maybe an hr is better) It was great and the entire family loved it! I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe turned out great. I used a little less brown sugar and a little bit more spiced rum though. I was afraid it might be too sweet but it wasn't. I served it over butter pecan ice cream. The bananas did not get too soft and mushy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States