Slow Cooker Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Wasn't a huge fan. I liked how easy it was, and that I had all of the ingredients on hand. It was the texture of the chicken that I wasn't a fan of. I think I'd prefer to make this on the stove and not in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Not bad. It isn't my favorite meal, but it was certainly easy. I liked the additional flavor the balsamic gave the sauce. I cooked it for about 3 hours in my slow cooker. I paired it with whole wheat penne pasta and added some fresh spinach when eating. Only had stewed tomatoes with basil and Italian seasoning, and no salt added diced tomatoes. No onions. Overall, still pretty good. I enjoyed the variety of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Schrader
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I also used seasoned diced tomatoes, bit still added thyme, rosemary, garlic, shallots, onions. The smell in my kitchen right now is AMAZING! My chicken breast were partially frozen, added extra olive oil to keep them moist. Family is in love with this recipe! It's on our regular list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schrader

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Davis
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I love the taste! I used 5 chicken tenders instead of breasts and only one can of tomatoes, but I used tomatoes with chilies in it and added tomato paste. I had it on high it was done by 3:48 which is sooner then I needed so I have it on keep warm now. So if u choose smaller chicken expect it to only take about 2 1/2 hrs to cook. I plan on serving it over spaghetti which is what my hubby picked, but I snuck a taste & it's amazing!! :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I make this from time to time now cause it's soo easy...esp. when nothing's defrosted... and I always have this stuff on hand. It is a good weeknight dinner. Not my favorite meal ever, but decent and worth a try. I DO use frozen chicken breasts (yay).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I am in love with this recipe! I just made it for the first time and just finished eating it. What a complex taste the ingredients create! I only made one change and that was out of necessity. I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed. The mixture of flavors was divine. I was surprised that much of the balsamic vinegar flavor ended up in the onion. The recipe could almost be made without the chicken. We put ours over rice and used corn starch to thicken the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
the tomatoes kill the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This came out really good, more tomatoey than I expected. I served it over brown rice but will definitely do it with pasta next time. Great, rich flavor with the balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
LOVE IT! Easy and after cooking it, I understand why you need to "layer" and not mix. Need to try!!! Hubs loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made this this morning. It was delicious! I enlarged the recipe in order to feed more people and to have leftovers! I believe my ratio of chicken to all the other ingredients was pretty high though. (Turned out to be more like a balsamic shredded chicken recipe). Also I had to do some substitutions due to what I had on hand. I used lots of bunching onion with some light green parts included (instead of regular onion). Used diced and stewed tomatoes instead of crushed, also I didn't have thyme so I used an Italian seasoning along with the basil and oregano. And due to the lack of onion I added 2 anehiem (garden fresh and not that hot) to bulk it up. Had it on for 8 hours but on high (I thought it was on low!) But thankfully the chicken was still moist and render enough Tk be easily shredded with a ladle...will definitely try again but with the exact ingredients as instructed. Should be even better with lots of onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States