Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been making these for years. Just make sure the potatoes are complety dry, from washing them, before rubbing with oil. I have used canola oil, as well. I have never wrapped the potatoes in foil, just rub with oil, salt & pepper and drop them into the crockpot. Wonderfully fresh smell and taste, so different from oven baked. Thanks for the reminder to make these more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
729 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Baking potatoes in the slow cooker sounds great! However, one reviewer said she had a roast in the oven all day, at a low temp. It is just as easy to add foil wrapped potatoes to the 5-hour oven baking project. They cook just fine at the lower temp and long baking period. I'm 74 years old, do it all the time, as did my Mother years ago. Works great...saves time, space, etc. You can oil the potatoes before putting in the foil if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I have done potatoes this way for a couple of years now and they are truely wonderful. Do them the exact way. yum the family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I also add a butternut squash in the crock pot with a few potatos. You can just put it in whole, no need to peel it or cut in half and wrap in foil if you have a smaller crockpot. When it is done, just scoop out seeds, then scoop out all the flesh, add butter, nutmeg and cinnamon. When I come home I have my potato and vegetable, to me the hard and time consuming parts of preparing supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I am known as the queen of crockpot cooking in my family, if it can be done in a crockpot, I will do it. I have 5 crockpots, and use them all, all the time! However, I have never tried this recipe, until this past weekend. And now I am a believer! I HATE baking potatoes. They just never come out perfect, so I always end up buying the ones you do in the microwave that are wrapped in plastic. Not anymore...I loved these! I scrubbed, let dry, and then rubbed w/ olive oil and kosher salt. I did not wrap in foil, but they turned out fine. Cooked on High for 4 1/2 hours then removed the lid and let them cool for a bit, and they were perfect. Mine weren't "soggy" like some reviewers mentioned, but it might have been b/c I didn't wrap in foil. Not sure, but I will make my potatoes like this many more times! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Awesome! Who knew you could make baked potatoes in the slow cooker? These tasted great. I washed my potatoes and let them dry. Then I sprayed my crockpot with cooking spray, rubbed my potatoes down with olive oil, pricked them with a fork, and cooked them for a few hours on low. They were soft but not mushy, and had a much better taste than "baked" potatoes from the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
VERY GOOD RECIPE,USE IT ALL THE TIME. I DO NOT USE OLIVE OIL, AND THEY ARE STILL GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Good, easy recipe, however I prefer the crispy skin from baking the potatoes-just my personal preference. Note to prior reviewer "CB"- you'll read plenty about the health benefits of Canola Oil,but FYI: There is no such thing as a "Canola Plant"...so know that Canola oil is processed from rapeseed plants, much the same way margerine is processed. Remember when they said margerine was better for you than butter? I didnt buy that logic then either and now we know that's not true! Olive Oil is healthier. Go natural.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
As with any potato cooked in foil, they are steamed, not baked. Still a good way to make them while you are away. But nothing beats baking a potato at 400-425 degrees for an hour unwrapped.....there is a difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is absolutely the best way I have ever found for making baked potatoes!! I love how easy it was and they came out so moist! I followed the recipe as is and I cannot stop raving about how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States