Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Came out perfect as written. Thanks for the recipe, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I wanted to have steak and baked potatoes when we got home from church, but didn't want to wait for the oven to preheat and take the time for the potatoes to bake. I also didn't want to heat up the kitchen in the middle of a Phoenix summer. I thought Slow cooker, but didn't know how it would work. I headed for AR. I did 3 potatoes approximately 8oz each. Rubbed them with olive oil and sprinkled with kosher salt. I placed them on crumpled foil, unwrapped, and cooked on high for 4 hours in a 3 quart slow cooker. They were perfectly done when we got home. I placed them in the oven @ 200° long enough to grill the steaks. The skins were not as crispy as totally baking them in the oven but they did dry out a bit more than when I first took them out of the slow cooker. Will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks for the time and settings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Who knew??? Ever since I came accross this recipe, I have been making baked potatoes this way. Tried them with and without the foil. Much better WITH the foil, although I don't put anything on them when cooking. I cook on high for 5 hours, then the slow cooker automatically goes to warm. I usually do 4 potatoes at a time, this way we always have some potatoes ready for breakfast that can just be shredded, diced or sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I enjoyed the ease of preparation for this recipe. It is not my preferred method of doing baked potatoes but I will definitely make it again if.. a) I need a large amount of baked potatoes for a gathering - I have 4 crockpots. b) if it's too danged hot to bake them in the oven or c) the oven is otherwise occupied. I should also add that I've done this with sweet potatoes as well. Definitely worth keeping the recipe on hand for when baking potatoes or sweet potatoes in the oven just isn't ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Easy Peasy baked potatoes. Moist and cooked through centres. 3.5hrs on high for 6 large potatoes(No foil or piercing). Then under the highest grill setting for 15mins, turning once. Finished them off nicely; giving them a charred and crispy, oven baked outer skin. Yum! Kids loved them, nothing left on the plate; no higher compliment in my house. New to Slow cooker cooking and loving the convenience and versatility of cuisine that can be cooked in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This recipe was great for its convenience. They cooked while at church and dinner was ready when we arrived home. I did not wrap the potatoes in foil but rather just used olive oil, sea salt, and pepper. The outside was crispy and the inside was cooked well. The color was a little off but everyone still enjoyed them. I still prefer baked potatoes in the oven but this works well when you don't want to fuss too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I didn't really think I'd like these potatoes, but I wanted to try anyway, and I surprised myself--I really like them! You do not get the crust I like from baking, but I thought they were pretty decent, easy potatoes. I left off the foil and used some smaller red potatoes, cooked on high for about 2 hours with the crock pot half full, and ended up with nicely steamed, perfectly cooked red potatoes. Great if I'm out of room in the oven or just feel like steamed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I was surprised at how good these turned out. I followed the recipe (minus the foil) and used 4 potatoes in a larger (5 qt) crockpot, which is why I think they cooked quicker. I cooked on high for 3 1/2 hours and they turned out perfectly. I noticed they were pretty soft after 3 hours so they probably would've been fine if I had taken them out even earlier. I have had problems finding just the right temp and time to cook baked potatoes in both the microwave as well as oven, but the crock pot method seemed to lock the moisture in and cook everything evenly. Once they were done, I added a little extra salt/ pepper, butter, and shredded cheese and they tasted soooo good! I think this is the best basic baked potato recipe I've come across and will definitely try again, with more potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This is a super easy way to have some nice hot potatoes waiting at home after a long day at work (or, in my case, school). I topped off these potatoes with soy chorizo and light sour cream. This became a delicious, low calorie vegetarian dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
How have I never known you can cook baked potatoes in the crock and why would I ever cook them any other way? These turned out wonderfully. I cooked them on low for about 8 hours. I used my *normal* sized round crock pot and only 2 potatoes w/no issues. This WILL get a lot of use in our house. THANKS for the recipe, Nurse Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States