Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I did this to make Mashed potatoes.After they are done cooking in the crock pot I remove the foil add the milk and butter and mash away. I Personally use a pot to do the mashing in. After taking a food science class I learned that you never want to microwave any food and boiling will take most of the nutrient out of the potato and it ends up in the water. I also learned that cooking food at a lower temperature helps to insure that you keep the nutrient from the food in the food. So I got a slow cooker and loving the new way to make Mashed potatoes and other amazing meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I have baked unwrapped potatoes for years in a dry crock pot. The dry method seems to concentrate the flavor. Often we will have regular and sweet potatoes or yams for the 'grownups'. Bette gave me the awesome idea of putting a whole winter squash in to bake, as well. Once it is done and tender, it's far easier to cut, scoop the seeds and season. you can also peel and dice for a different presentation. I'm going to try roasting whole rutabagas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I do this, and love it. Don't forget that it also works with sweet potatoes. They come out great, and I serve with butter and cinnamon sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally McArthur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
cooked on high and browned potatoes too much, Try cooking on low,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This worked perfectly! Had some super large bakers and instead of putting in the oven for hours, put in the slow cooker and they came out great. Just right for the Super Bowl baked potato bar. Will make baked potatoes this way again. Saves space in the oven and would be great way to keep the kitchen a little cooler in the Summer. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My family loved them! I followed directions exactly. My 13 year old daughter will not allow me to make them any other way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is genius! I never have time to put baked potatoes in the oven, and the microwave just isn't the same. I rubbed these with EVOO (though I would use a more neutral flavored oil next time since the oil was pretty strong tasting), and didn't wrap them in foil. I cooked on low about 7 hours, and while I couldn't expect the skins to be crispy, they weren't soggy either. The only thing that made this a 4* was the strong EVOO. If I used vegetable oil, or perhaps even skipped the oil next time, it would be a 5* recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsewnostalgic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I LOVE wacky recipes and this caught my attention. I placed the potatoes on their ends and turned them after about 6 hrs to soften the other ends. They were quite large and took 7 hrs. They came out great. Perfect for space and/or heat saving in the kitchen. I miss them being dry and crispy on the outside so I may experiment with putting them under the broiler for a couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States