Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I didn't really think I'd like these potatoes, but I wanted to try anyway, and I surprised myself--I really like them! You do not get the crust I like from baking, but I thought they were pretty decent, easy potatoes. I left off the foil and used some smaller red potatoes, cooked on high for about 2 hours with the crock pot half full, and ended up with nicely steamed, perfectly cooked red potatoes. Great if I'm out of room in the oven or just feel like steamed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I was surprised at how good these turned out. I followed the recipe (minus the foil) and used 4 potatoes in a larger (5 qt) crockpot, which is why I think they cooked quicker. I cooked on high for 3 1/2 hours and they turned out perfectly. I noticed they were pretty soft after 3 hours so they probably would've been fine if I had taken them out even earlier. I have had problems finding just the right temp and time to cook baked potatoes in both the microwave as well as oven, but the crock pot method seemed to lock the moisture in and cook everything evenly. Once they were done, I added a little extra salt/ pepper, butter, and shredded cheese and they tasted soooo good! I think this is the best basic baked potato recipe I've come across and will definitely try again, with more potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This is a super easy way to have some nice hot potatoes waiting at home after a long day at work (or, in my case, school). I topped off these potatoes with soy chorizo and light sour cream. This became a delicious, low calorie vegetarian dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
How have I never known you can cook baked potatoes in the crock and why would I ever cook them any other way? These turned out wonderfully. I cooked them on low for about 8 hours. I used my *normal* sized round crock pot and only 2 potatoes w/no issues. This WILL get a lot of use in our house. THANKS for the recipe, Nurse Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Great way to bake potatoes on those days when the oven is full. No, this isn't the same as baking in the oven but a perfect method when cooking for a crowd. Thank you Nurse Ellen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I cooked three large baking potatoes on low for 7-1/2 hours. They were cooked perfectly. Based on other reviews - I decided not to wrap in foil and just rub in the olive oil and salt and put straight into the slow cooker. The outside had a slight crisp to it that we liked, but, wasn't as crunchy as you get in the regular oven. This would definitely be a big help if you are cooking something at a different temperature in the oven than the potatoes would need to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I followed directions exactly, cooking my potatoes 4 hours on high but they were overcooked. I suppose it depends on how large/small the potato is as to how long they need to cook in the slow cooker. I'm sure with practice these will come out perfectly and be a time saver for busy days. I topped mine with Reduced Fat Yogurt Ranch Salad Dressing instead of butter and sour cream to make them lighter in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I make these every week. So simple and delicious! You really don't even need the salt and oil, if you are in a hurry. If you work all day, buy an outlet timer and you can program it so your crock pot comes on at just the right time, so they won't overcook, but be ready for dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jitterbuggin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Delicious! For times sake I usually make my potatoes in the microwave. But I will use the slow cooker from now on. I sprayed my potatoes with Olive Oil baking spray after washing. I forgot to poke holes in them, but I will try that next time. I did sprinkle sea salt all over, and then wrapped them in aluminum foil. Baked 4 large potatoes for 8 hours on low, and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela0131
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I absolutely LOVE these! I dip them in canola oil, use sea salt, a brown sugar rub, and a little touch of minced onion. YUM-MEE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakjones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States