Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These were OK and I'll do them again if I don't have room in the oven. It is convenient to just put them in and not have to think about them. But, the skins were moist, not dry and crispy like we like them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Excellent! Didn't change a thing. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Good but not great...these are essentially STEAMED potatoes rather than BAKED. The best baked potatoes are simply baked in the oven at a high temperature in order to crisp the skin. Wrapping a potato in foil steams them in the first place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I agree with Willie, crock pot cooked taters sound wonderful and I'm going to try it, but I've always foil wrapped my taters with canola margarine instead of oil and baked them right along with the roast. They always come out great! I remember my mother had some steel rods she'd poke through the middle of the bigger potatoes to help them cook better. I was never able to find those potato rods anywhere! I think my Dad made them for her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
As with any potato cooked in foil, they are steamed, not baked. Still a good way to make them while you are away. But nothing beats baking a potato at 400-425 degrees for an hour unwrapped.....there is a difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I also add a butternut squash in the crock pot with a few potatos. You can just put it in whole, no need to peel it or cut in half and wrap in foil if you have a smaller crockpot. When it is done, just scoop out seeds, then scoop out all the flesh, add butter, nutmeg and cinnamon. When I come home I have my potato and vegetable, to me the hard and time consuming parts of preparing supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Good, easy recipe, however I prefer the crispy skin from baking the potatoes-just my personal preference. Note to prior reviewer "CB"- you'll read plenty about the health benefits of Canola Oil,but FYI: There is no such thing as a "Canola Plant"...so know that Canola oil is processed from rapeseed plants, much the same way margerine is processed. Remember when they said margerine was better for you than butter? I didnt buy that logic then either and now we know that's not true! Olive Oil is healthier. Go natural.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I was not impressed at all with this recipe. I will go back to baking it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Delish, we loved it! Thanks Nurse Ellen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I tried this the other day and what a hit!!! Thanks for sharing, I had no idea you could use your slow cooker to bake potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States