Slow Cooker Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is not a recipe for BAKED potatoes. Foil-wrapped potatoes are NOT baked potatoes; they are STEAMED potatoes! To bake a potato, it sits in the oven for 45 minutes bare naked! It's not possible to "bake" a potato in a covered crock pot, you can only steam them. When you bake cookies, do you cover them with foil? Do you cover a cake with foil when you bake it? In a crock pot, even without the foil on, this recipe will yield steamed potatoes, not baked. There, I got that off my chest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
My understanding is you just lay the potatoes in the crockpot without any type of water in the pot. When reading this I was afraid everything would burn without something, like water, in the crockpot with them. I am going to have to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Please, please, please don't call this a "baked" potato. It is a cooked/steamed potato & probably is not much worse than a microwaved potato but still a far cry from baking in an oven (or over coals for the adventurous). "Baking" requires dry & open heat to allow the moisture to escape. Any time you wrap in foil or cook in a small, enclosed space you are completely changing the texture of the potato (not for the better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Good, alternative way to make baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
The olive oil gives them an amazing flavor and they are not as dry as oven baked! I make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trail, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
These are great! I did not cover in foil to have the crispy outside. I also used both regular and sweet potatoes. No fuss, all yum. Thanks for the recipe. UPDATE: I used the leftover (next day after being refrigerated) of these - both sweet and regular potatoes - for gnocchi and they worked perfectly!! 15/7/14: added a few whole, cleaned onions which turned out wonderfully fragrant and with a slightly roasted flavour. Didn't use foil around them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Fabulous idea! My potatoes turned out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I did this to make Mashed potatoes.After they are done cooking in the crock pot I remove the foil add the milk and butter and mash away. I Personally use a pot to do the mashing in. After taking a food science class I learned that you never want to microwave any food and boiling will take most of the nutrient out of the potato and it ends up in the water. I also learned that cooking food at a lower temperature helps to insure that you keep the nutrient from the food in the food. So I got a slow cooker and loving the new way to make Mashed potatoes and other amazing meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I have baked unwrapped potatoes for years in a dry crock pot. The dry method seems to concentrate the flavor. Often we will have regular and sweet potatoes or yams for the 'grownups'. Bette gave me the awesome idea of putting a whole winter squash in to bake, as well. Once it is done and tender, it's far easier to cut, scoop the seeds and season. you can also peel and dice for a different presentation. I'm going to try roasting whole rutabagas as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I do this, and love it. Don't forget that it also works with sweet potatoes. They come out great, and I serve with butter and cinnamon sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally McArthur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States