Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I am not a big bean person, but everyone who ate these loved them! I didn't know what a ham hock was so instead I picked up a ham bone from my local Honey Baked Ham Store and used that. It added tons of meat and flavor and I'd definitely do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe, but the beans didn't turn out well. I ended up having to cook them for 7 hours and had to add water to them several times. Although they had a decent flavor they were very dry and not at all what I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
For those of you who have hard beans you may need to put 1/8 tsp of baking soda in your water when soaking (this is stated on the back of the navy bean bag for hard water or use bottle water). I was scared after reading many reviews but my beans came out soft in the amount of time stated in the recipe. I did use the quick method, used the water they boiled and sat in for an hour. I also filled my crock pot up with this water to more than cover the beans while cooking. As others stated used a can of tomato paste during the cooking process, and then at the end used some ketchup and mustard. Also used cut up pieces of country ham for the meat and a small vadilia onion. Taking to the lake today, looking forward to hearing great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These did not come out how I expected them to. I was hoping for barbeque beans. But they were still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
My boyfriend who is English asked me already for ages to make baked beans,his second love in life and bought me specialy a crockpot for this.And it was worth it ,great!I made all small portion bags for him in the freezer,great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Peeters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were very good. Shame on me tho, I soaked the beans overnight thinking that would eliminate the boiling process, but it did take mine longer to soften up. I will definitely be boiling next time. The flavorings are spot on but 1 lb. of ham hocks didn't yield much meat. Maybe next time I will add more or use smoked neck bones. So much better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was a great recipe! I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews that my beans wouldn't be done on time, but they were! I took them to a party, and everyone loved them! I will be holding onto this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Easy to prepare and fantastic results as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I do not know what I am doing wrong but I tried this recipe and followed it. I am still trying to get the beans to soten up after 18 hours in the crock pot. Yes my crock pot is working right beans are bubbling. Now they are at the point of a better taste. No tthe first time I have tried to do backed beans from scratch and have the same problem no mater what method I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is almost the same as the beans my Mom used to make, slow cooked in the oven, except she used molasses. The recipe used to be on the package of Great Northern white beans but I have not been able to find it anywhere. I love beans with maple flavoring and will definately give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States