Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I found these to be really sweet, but good. I also found that I had to double the time that the beas cooked. They are definitely not done after 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This recipe was absolutely simple and it was delicious! My husband came home after a hard, cold September day to his home smelling like (his words) "heaven". Even the picky 3 year old loved this. Perfect with some cornbread! Yum! I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This recipe was great. I did have to cook it an extra couple of hours but it was worth the wait. The taste was wonderful. I even froze leftovers and they reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I read all of the reviews first and went with using one 16oz package of beans. I boiled for a while and probably went over 10 mins and let them sit a little over an hour. I just took my time about it. I started the crockpot at 12:30 on High and the beans were perfect by 4:30. Right amount of sauce too and never added more water. I still stayed casual and finished the recipe with the final steps and ingreds and went another hour on low for fear I've over cook them. These are professonal, afordable, and gormet-looking and tasting! This recipe is what your teen boys will brag to their future wives about! No can will ever compare. These are a wow! I will memorize this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Beans had to cook way longer than recipe stated in order to soften, and more liquid had to be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is a very nice tasting recipe, but did require several hours more cooking for nice soft beans. Next time I will soak the beans overnight as I have with other recipes. I used ham pieces rather than the ham hocks and that worked well. I used only 16 oz. of dried beans and the same amount of sauce in the recipe. AND the beans taste even better the next day. Thank you for the recipe--will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
I had to throw this recipe out! The beans did not soak up any of the flavors. While cooking, my kitchen didn't even eminate the usually mouth-watering smells. I was very disappointed, and am now a canned baked bean convert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAO
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
This recipe is DELICIOUS! It took a few minutes a couple of times during the morning, and we had delicious baked beans with rice for our lunch. The can cannot compare! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
I had to cook these a little longer than stated. It was closer to 6-7 hours. Time may have been cut down if I had soaked them overnight. I also needed to add water during the cooking time so that they would not dry out. I added chopped ham instead of hamhocks and got a great result. Overall, taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
A very easy and tasty recipe. I will boil the beans more next time - or soak them overnight. I found they needed more time in the slow cooker (about 6 hours). I also added more liquid at the end (a combo of all of the liquids already added) to make them 'saucier'. I used molasses instead of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States