Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
These were very good...however, it is a must to soak the beans overnight beforehand. The quick soak methood just isn't enough, even though I cooked my beans for about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Who needs a doctored CANNED recipe when you can make them better from scratch? I also rated this shy of a 5-star, only due to tweaking. I soaked the beans ahead, then added them in with the rest of the ingredients to the crockpot, using a ham shank and subbing 2 Tbsp. maple with molasses. I cooked them about 8 hours overnight only to find the water had absorbed and the beans had begun to crisp - Aaaah! I quickly added about 2 more cups water since the beans were only a little toasted, then let them cook another 8 hours, adding 3 more cups water about halfway through. The ham cooked right off the bone, making yummy meaty morsels among super-soft beans, now chocolatey brown (maybe from some of the toasting!). They were delicious! I added more ketchup to my bowl because that's the way I like 'em, but I might add a little more ketchup to the pot itself when I make these next time. They also freeze very well - don't be afraid to make the whole recipe if your friends/family like baked beans, they'll love them just as much as mine did both the first and second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Very good! I'll be making this again. I did substitute the ham for salt pork, and increased the catsup and brown sugar, but thats just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
This is a good recipe but don't do the boiling part of the beans. Just let them soak overnight. And yes, I had to cook them longer. What I did was.......soak them overnight on Friday. Cook them with the ham hocks only on Saturday. Then Sunday morning add all your stuff and let cook until dinner and they will be awesome. The flavor is excellent! Oh yeah, I used dijon mustard instead and it gave it a a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I'm only going to rate this a 4 because of the changes I made after reading the reviews.I cut the recipe in half and let the beans soak in water overnight before boiling them. I also used an extra 1/2 cup of water and 2 tablespoons of molasses in the mixture as it was quite dry. The beans were cooked but not as soft as I would have liked. Next time I will let them soak for 24 hours. The flavour was fantastic though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Delicious, easy, and easy to tweak. It also stays delicious for days after you make it. I added some molasses and made it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I have only tasted a few Tbsp. of this recipe and I am impressed considering I screwed up at the beginning. I didn't read the whole recipe and added the ketchup and mustard at the beginning. Opps, it took over 7 hours for the beans to be fully cooked even though I soaked them overnight. Make sure you add enough water to the beans if soaking them overnight. I didn't and the next morning there was almost none. That might have effected the cooking time the next day. Leave a couple inches of extra water on top of the beans. Th two pork hocks I used were big and I was surprised how much meat I was able to get off them. The meat just fell off. When the beans were finally cooked I added the same amount of ketchup and mustard again and some water because it was way too thick. Cooked another 30 mins. and it was done. Froze all of it for lunches. So thanks for the recipe. Grab the Beano and enjoy!!!! Michele, Cambridge, ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
wonderful stuff! i used red kidney beans and it turned out very yimmy. thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I found these to be really sweet, but good. I also found that I had to double the time that the beas cooked. They are definitely not done after 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This recipe was absolutely simple and it was delicious! My husband came home after a hard, cold September day to his home smelling like (his words) "heaven". Even the picky 3 year old loved this. Perfect with some cornbread! Yum! I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States