Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Very good! I'll be making this again. I did substitute the ham for salt pork, and increased the catsup and brown sugar, but thats just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
This is a good recipe but don't do the boiling part of the beans. Just let them soak overnight. And yes, I had to cook them longer. What I did was.......soak them overnight on Friday. Cook them with the ham hocks only on Saturday. Then Sunday morning add all your stuff and let cook until dinner and they will be awesome. The flavor is excellent! Oh yeah, I used dijon mustard instead and it gave it a a little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I'm only going to rate this a 4 because of the changes I made after reading the reviews.I cut the recipe in half and let the beans soak in water overnight before boiling them. I also used an extra 1/2 cup of water and 2 tablespoons of molasses in the mixture as it was quite dry. The beans were cooked but not as soft as I would have liked. Next time I will let them soak for 24 hours. The flavour was fantastic though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Delicious, easy, and easy to tweak. It also stays delicious for days after you make it. I added some molasses and made it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I have only tasted a few Tbsp. of this recipe and I am impressed considering I screwed up at the beginning. I didn't read the whole recipe and added the ketchup and mustard at the beginning. Opps, it took over 7 hours for the beans to be fully cooked even though I soaked them overnight. Make sure you add enough water to the beans if soaking them overnight. I didn't and the next morning there was almost none. That might have effected the cooking time the next day. Leave a couple inches of extra water on top of the beans. Th two pork hocks I used were big and I was surprised how much meat I was able to get off them. The meat just fell off. When the beans were finally cooked I added the same amount of ketchup and mustard again and some water because it was way too thick. Cooked another 30 mins. and it was done. Froze all of it for lunches. So thanks for the recipe. Grab the Beano and enjoy!!!! Michele, Cambridge, ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
wonderful stuff! i used red kidney beans and it turned out very yimmy. thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I found these to be really sweet, but good. I also found that I had to double the time that the beas cooked. They are definitely not done after 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This recipe was absolutely simple and it was delicious! My husband came home after a hard, cold September day to his home smelling like (his words) "heaven". Even the picky 3 year old loved this. Perfect with some cornbread! Yum! I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This recipe was great. I did have to cook it an extra couple of hours but it was worth the wait. The taste was wonderful. I even froze leftovers and they reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I read all of the reviews first and went with using one 16oz package of beans. I boiled for a while and probably went over 10 mins and let them sit a little over an hour. I just took my time about it. I started the crockpot at 12:30 on High and the beans were perfect by 4:30. Right amount of sauce too and never added more water. I still stayed casual and finished the recipe with the final steps and ingreds and went another hour on low for fear I've over cook them. These are professonal, afordable, and gormet-looking and tasting! This recipe is what your teen boys will brag to their future wives about! No can will ever compare. These are a wow! I will memorize this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States