Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I am about to make this recipe for the first time - trying to use crock pot more - long time oven recipe. I was reading the reviews before and I noticed a great many comments about adding more fluids (have always had to do that, maybe altitude)and so I will. One thing I could add is this hint to know when you have boiled long enough (for those still using that process). Test the beans for readiness by scooping up a soup spoon of beans from the boil pot, and blow on them. The hard shell of the bean will peel back when the time for simmering is right. Hope that helps. Only gave a 1 rating because I have not done it yet, sure that it will be tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Love this recipe! My picky eaters even love it! I agree with a lot of the other reviewers though, the beans definitely need to be soaked longer. I made the mistake if following the time in the recipe and it failed the first time I made this. So now I soak them in the crockpot on the warm setting overnight then I don't need to boil them. Other than the time this recipe is perfect and I will be using it for years to come! We always used to buy Busch's Baked beans in the can and we will never do it again. I always make a double batch and freeze or can the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Blackburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This recipe took me 3 tries before I got it right. You have to soak the beans overnight for 12 hours minimum. THEN you rinse the beans and boil them for an hour. While they are in the crock pot, DO NOT open the lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is delicious, but I only rated it 4 stars because the beans wouldn't have been even close to done if I had just followed the directions. I soaked overnight (about 10 hours) and then proceeded with the recipe as written. Cooking time was accurate after soaking overnight. I'm not sure of the quantity of beans I used...I had about half of a 2 lb bag. I followed all the quantities of ingredients stated in the recipe but added more water to my crock pot--enough to just cover all the beans. I also did not use ham hocks but instead used about 3/4 cup of chopped ham that I had left over from another meal. Turned out perfectly. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Not a bad recipe to play with. I followed other reviewers suggestions and had to increase the amount of liquid as 1 cup was not enough. I think I wound up adding another 1 or 1 1/2 cups of water before the cooking was complete. I did not have enough maple syrup on hand, so I used 1/4c maple, 1/3c honey, and almost 1/2c of homemade BBQ sauce that I had on hand. I also added about 1/3c molasses based on another reviewer's post. Lastly, we like our beans vegetarian so did not add any meat (ham hocks, etc). These turned out pretty good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I switched molasses for the maple syrup because I hate the flavor of maple beans. I used 3/4 lb thinly sliced pork chops because I have to watch my fat content. The beans were delicious and I plan on saving this recipe on my favorites !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Putnam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Many posters have said the beans didn't cook--mine didn't either. I'm convinced it's because the sugar was added at the wrong stage. Most recipes I've seen have you add the sugar AFTER the beans are already tender. I'm trying to salvage mine right now--I drained off the cooking liquid, added some water, and have been boiling the beans hard for an hour and they do seem to finally be getting soft. Then I'll add back in the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe! I've been looking for a good homemade baked beans recipe, and I finally found it!! I have a limited "convenience food" diet because of an allergy to artificial colorings...and EVERY can of baked beans has caramel coloring in it. I did not use any ham or bacon in the recipe as I wanted them to be MSG-free...so I did salt them to make up for that difference. I also soaked the beans overnight in water as another reviewer recommended to avoid boiling them, which also made these quicker to make! And for the maple syrup, I used half blue agave syrup, half real maple syrup that we always buy in northern Michigan. Mmmmmm!!! I first made them last Saturday and I've already been asked to make them again this weekend. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Good beans. As others have said, you may have to adjust timing or water as everyone's slow cooker is different. I adjusted the water a lot; I put several inches of water above the beans and then had to add more in while soaking. I did not drain the beans before putting in the slow cooker. This did make for rather soupy beans while cooking in the slow cooker, but eliminated the need to add water back in to the cooker while they were cooking away. I also waited to add the meat (I just used cooked and chopped bacon pieces) until about 4 hours into the cooking process. I didn't have maple syrup, so I used maple flavoring and honey. I'm not sure that adding salt up front means beans won't cook or not, but I prefer to add seasonings like that at the end--so hard to adjust down! So, I waited to add the salt and pepper with the mustard and ketchup at the end. I had a 2 pound, so 32 ounce, bag of pinto beans (no navy or Great Northern beans at Target) and per hubs this needed another 1/2 cup of brown sugar at the end to bring it to his preferred sweetness, as the only adjustment I made for the increased beans was the water. I did have to keep the lid off halfway for the last 1 or 2 hours of cooking to bring the liquid down. All told, we ended up with about 5 meals (there are two of us) of baked beans, so I froze three of them for another time, and it cooked for about 8 hours on high. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So far, so good. Just shy of 4 hours, I made a combo cup and 3/4 of all the liquids (no more added mustard) and added, it's definitely necessary. The inners of the bean are perfect the shell, is almost there (@ about 5 hours) will pull the plug around 6 hours...? The flavor, is perfect. Little sweet, little savory. 100% organic which feels good. Anyhow, I soaked my beans (24 oz) for 19.5 hours. Boiled as instructed (10 minutes) and let sit an hour as instructed as well. Left out the hamhocks as we're veggies over here....will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States