Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
1st time I Made this in the slowcooker, came out ok. Still a little tough. Second time I made this in the dutch oven while camping with 3 cans great northern beans drained - came out great, until I added the mustard and ruined it. 3rd time I made it I didn't have any bacon so I used a tsp of bacon grease, left out the mustard at the end and it was perfect !! Only used 16 oz of dry beans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Like others have said, the flavor is great! But the water content is a bit too low and you need to be prepared to watch them throughout the day the first time or two that you make them. The first time I made them they ended up mushy because they cooked way too long. So I cut the time down the next time and they were totally burnt around the edges and had to be thrown away (I used only just over the 1 cup of water called for that time - I had forgotten I used quite a bit more the first time, you do need to put enough water to cover the beans by about an inch or you will have to add water during cooking). Just be prepared to take them off early if need be, or to have a back up for dinner if not done yet. The third time I made them I added more water again, but used Navy beans (I used Great Northern beans the first two times, not sure if that made any difference or not) and they were still hard at dinnertime so I kept cooking (I still had to add a little water toward the end to keep them cooking and they ended up cooking [with a prior overnight soak] for about 12 hours, but I do have hard water and had forgotten to add baking soda until the last two hours). I did not use any meat or meat flavoring and they were excellent! So be ready to play around with them the first few times to determine your cooking time, water level, etc. Then write it down for the next time so you can improve upon it. It is worth it as they are great (healthier than canned and cheaper, too!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Amazing recipe, the only problem was it took over 10 hours in crock pot, even though I soaked the beans overnight.Next time, I will soak for 2 days,and boil for a few hours. I also did exactly what the recipe called for, except I added the mustard and ketchup with all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made these today and they turned out really great. I have made homemade baked beans for years so soaked the beans overnight, then boiled for an hour. Slow cooker for 6 hours and they turned out great. I added the ketchup and used dry mustard both at the beginning. I added only the cup of water called for in the recipe and beans were very moist. The colouring comes from the ketchup so it is best to add early so you get that nice brown colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Love this recipe! My picky eaters even love it! I agree with a lot of the other reviewers though, the beans definitely need to be soaked longer. I made the mistake if following the time in the recipe and it failed the first time I made this. So now I soak them in the crockpot on the warm setting overnight then I don't need to boil them. Other than the time this recipe is perfect and I will be using it for years to come! We always used to buy Busch's Baked beans in the can and we will never do it again. I always make a double batch and freeze or can the extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Blackburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This recipe took me 3 tries before I got it right. You have to soak the beans overnight for 12 hours minimum. THEN you rinse the beans and boil them for an hour. While they are in the crock pot, DO NOT open the lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is delicious, but I only rated it 4 stars because the beans wouldn't have been even close to done if I had just followed the directions. I soaked overnight (about 10 hours) and then proceeded with the recipe as written. Cooking time was accurate after soaking overnight. I'm not sure of the quantity of beans I used...I had about half of a 2 lb bag. I followed all the quantities of ingredients stated in the recipe but added more water to my crock pot--enough to just cover all the beans. I also did not use ham hocks but instead used about 3/4 cup of chopped ham that I had left over from another meal. Turned out perfectly. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Not a bad recipe to play with. I followed other reviewers suggestions and had to increase the amount of liquid as 1 cup was not enough. I think I wound up adding another 1 or 1 1/2 cups of water before the cooking was complete. I did not have enough maple syrup on hand, so I used 1/4c maple, 1/3c honey, and almost 1/2c of homemade BBQ sauce that I had on hand. I also added about 1/3c molasses based on another reviewer's post. Lastly, we like our beans vegetarian so did not add any meat (ham hocks, etc). These turned out pretty good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I switched molasses for the maple syrup because I hate the flavor of maple beans. I used 3/4 lb thinly sliced pork chops because I have to watch my fat content. The beans were delicious and I plan on saving this recipe on my favorites !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Putnam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Many posters have said the beans didn't cook--mine didn't either. I'm convinced it's because the sugar was added at the wrong stage. Most recipes I've seen have you add the sugar AFTER the beans are already tender. I'm trying to salvage mine right now--I drained off the cooking liquid, added some water, and have been boiling the beans hard for an hour and they do seem to finally be getting soft. Then I'll add back in the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States