Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I read all of the reviews first and went with using one 16oz package of beans. I boiled for a while and probably went over 10 mins and let them sit a little over an hour. I just took my time about it. I started the crockpot at 12:30 on High and the beans were perfect by 4:30. Right amount of sauce too and never added more water. I still stayed casual and finished the recipe with the final steps and ingreds and went another hour on low for fear I've over cook them. These are professonal, afordable, and gormet-looking and tasting! This recipe is what your teen boys will brag to their future wives about! No can will ever compare. These are a wow! I will memorize this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I love this recipe! I soak the beans over night in 48 oz of water for at least 12 hours. I do not do the boiling technique at all. It turns out excellent. I think we all need to remember that our crock pots are different heat and different ages. So cook until yours are done. I had some leftover ham last time and did not use the ham hocks just added the ham chuncked at the beginning. I do use Heinz Cocktail Sauce instead of plain Ketchup and a nice deli brown mustard. Gives it great flavor. I have made these three times now and Love them! I even use low calorie maple syrup because that is what I have in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is a 5 star with the caveat that a slow cooker is for cooking food slowly! I started this recipe in the early evening by boiling the rinsed beans on the stove then transfered them (with original water) into the crockpot. My father has always insisted you never throw away the water you cook your beans in. I used bacon instead of hamhocks and I added 4 garlic cloves. I think my quantity of beans was close to 4 or 5 cups, all said, my 1 gallon crockpot was full to the lid. I cooked them on high until I went to bed. I had to watch my water level in the first few hours and did fine just adding more as needed. I cannot imagine this recipe working with the prescribed amount! The beans were ready the following evening. They totally hit the spot for us particularly since we cannot get canned baked beans here. I had been craving Bush's baked beans for weeks and these definitely worked. Now if only we could find some kielbasa, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
A very easy and tasty recipe. I will boil the beans more next time - or soak them overnight. I found they needed more time in the slow cooker (about 6 hours). I also added more liquid at the end (a combo of all of the liquids already added) to make them 'saucier'. I used molasses instead of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I have made these a couple times. I soak the beans overnight for about 18 hors. I then boil them for 2 hours. I used all the ingrediants listed minus 1 tablespoon of mustard. I put the mustard and ketchup in at the beginning. These are great, and taste good reheated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I have only tasted a few Tbsp. of this recipe and I am impressed considering I screwed up at the beginning. I didn't read the whole recipe and added the ketchup and mustard at the beginning. Opps, it took over 7 hours for the beans to be fully cooked even though I soaked them overnight. Make sure you add enough water to the beans if soaking them overnight. I didn't and the next morning there was almost none. That might have effected the cooking time the next day. Leave a couple inches of extra water on top of the beans. Th two pork hocks I used were big and I was surprised how much meat I was able to get off them. The meat just fell off. When the beans were finally cooked I added the same amount of ketchup and mustard again and some water because it was way too thick. Cooked another 30 mins. and it was done. Froze all of it for lunches. So thanks for the recipe. Grab the Beano and enjoy!!!! Michele, Cambridge, ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is a very nice tasting recipe, but did require several hours more cooking for nice soft beans. Next time I will soak the beans overnight as I have with other recipes. I used ham pieces rather than the ham hocks and that worked well. I used only 16 oz. of dried beans and the same amount of sauce in the recipe. AND the beans taste even better the next day. Thank you for the recipe--will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Wow, this was so delicious. Really wonderful, and made my house smell so homey. I served it with corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Best ever from scratch baked beans I've made. These turned out nice and soft and great flavor and texture. I did add more brown sugar and maple syrup for a sweeter taste. Also, added beans with water into the crockpot which may have resulted in soupier beans, but took the lid of off the crockpot for a couple of hours and turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arcade, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This recipe was absolutely simple and it was delicious! My husband came home after a hard, cold September day to his home smelling like (his words) "heaven". Even the picky 3 year old loved this. Perfect with some cornbread! Yum! I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States