Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I overcooked my beans...so that was my fault...they came out way too thick...more like refried beans..lol. However, I rate it a 4 for flavor...it was the flavor I was looking for. Next time I'll be more careful with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have made this several times now and people love it. I substitute salt pork for the ham hocks but otherwise I follow exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Very good! Thanks for sharing. I did make a few alterations. I made a vegetarian version, omitting the ham hocks. I also added a can of crushed pineapple, used 1/2 molasses and 1/2 maple syrup, a bit of garlic powder, and probably used a bit less ketchup and mustard than called for. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My Children loved these baked beans. They say they hate beans but I making it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
A little bland, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I'm not sure what happened with this recipe but I could never get my beans to soften. I took into account everything that was suggested here and thought I'd have no problems. I soaked them overnight, I boiled them like mentioned here and I slow cooked them for ages. My beans would never really soften. I even took them from the slow cooker and then cooked them on the stove to try and get them softer before adding them back to the slow cooker. It was a real shame because I made this for my English in laws who had never had American style baked beans before. Not sure I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Pretty good and easy, but a little sweet for our tastes. Adding some extra spice to even it out did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Really inaccurate and disappointing. I had to add more water, had to cook MUCH longer than the stated time. I also had to add other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is a 5 star with the caveat that a slow cooker is for cooking food slowly! I started this recipe in the early evening by boiling the rinsed beans on the stove then transfered them (with original water) into the crockpot. My father has always insisted you never throw away the water you cook your beans in. I used bacon instead of hamhocks and I added 4 garlic cloves. I think my quantity of beans was close to 4 or 5 cups, all said, my 1 gallon crockpot was full to the lid. I cooked them on high until I went to bed. I had to watch my water level in the first few hours and did fine just adding more as needed. I cannot imagine this recipe working with the prescribed amount! The beans were ready the following evening. They totally hit the spot for us particularly since we cannot get canned baked beans here. I had been craving Bush's baked beans for weeks and these definitely worked. Now if only we could find some kielbasa, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These were fine on the liquid and were certainly done. 3 adults gave them a 1 star and 2 gave it a zero....just didn't taste good, 2 said they only tasted onion, 2 said they were tooooo sweet and 1 said all she could taste was mustard. All of that said = YUCKY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States