Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My first try at home cooked baked beans and it was very good. I used thick cut bacon (6 slices) and the water from simmering the beans. I added a bit of crushed red pepper but maybe next time a little cayenne for some spice. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I had some leftover beans in the freezer & was looking for a way to use them up. I left out the meat and use a vidalia onion. I also added 2 sliced jalepeno peppers at the end with the ketchup. They were awesome, sweet with a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
My family loved them although I didn't have any maple syrup so I used Kayro Syrup. I didn't even have any molasses...but they thought they were my best yet. Will make them again this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
The flavor of these beans is excellent, but mine had to be cooked for a lot longer than the recipe called for. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is the first time I've been disappointed in a recipe from this website. Should have used far less onion as it overwhelmed the taste of beans and the recipe did not call for enough liquid. I added a cup of water halfway through and still the beans were too crisp. My husband tried to eat it, but we did not. Now that is something we've rarely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Had a snow day today and thought this would be good...I added chunks of leftover ham (about 3/4 cup) and chopped in two slices of bacon. I accidentally cooked it all with the ketchup mixed in and not added later, as was described and I did not add mustard. Instead I put in two dashes of worcestershire sauce. Came out great but I'd like it a bit more liquidy! This stays in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I loved this!! I did use smoke turkey wing instead of ham and added a little bourbon. It came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great basic recipe... as will all recipes, I tend to change them up a bit... 1. Soaked beans overnite 2. I could not find a hamhock - so used bacon and sliced it up (did not cook bacon first, just added to slow cooker) 3. Used Molassas instead of brown sugar and maple syrup (its what I had on hand) 4. Added a few shakes, about 1 tablespoon, of Cumin 5. Kept the water, mustard, ketchup, salt, onions, just eyeballed the amounts instead of measuring. 6. Put directly into the slow cooker by 9 in the morning. Turned out fantastic! I still need to try it with a hamhock...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I'm not real picky when it comes to baked beans, but I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This recipe was great. I needed something simple for a dinner party on Father's Day. This did not take any time away from attending other foods. Once prepped and in the cooker I left it alone. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Dunnigan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States