Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I thought they turned out great! My 2nd time trying (but first with this recipe) and I was very happy. I made a few modifications: - doubled the bean portion - 6 cups - Kept the sugar and maple syrup measurements the same - added 3/4 ketchup - Didn't boil the beans after soaking. Just soaked Turned out fab!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I soaked the beans last night and even so today I cooked them on high in my crock pot for 9 hours. I did reduce the maple syrup to 1/4 cp and reduced the onion by half. Still there was something lacking in flavor so I added 1/2 cp bbq sauce. They are great and I will use the revised recipe again and would definitely recommend this to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
These were Great! I used 16 oz of beans (mostly navy but some pintos since that is what I had) and left out the ham hocks. Didn't have real maple syrup so I used Hungry Jack pancake syrup. Also forgot the mustard. Nevertheless, they were wonderful. I didn't need to add any extra water--but I boiled and soaked them for about 8 hours before putting them in the crock pot. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Loved it! We left out the ham hocks and it was still delicious. I served it with brown rice and steamed broccoli as a healthy dinner and everyone ate it right up! Very easy to make and cheap! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My first try at home cooked baked beans and it was very good. I used thick cut bacon (6 slices) and the water from simmering the beans. I added a bit of crushed red pepper but maybe next time a little cayenne for some spice. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I had some leftover beans in the freezer & was looking for a way to use them up. I left out the meat and use a vidalia onion. I also added 2 sliced jalepeno peppers at the end with the ketchup. They were awesome, sweet with a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
My family loved them although I didn't have any maple syrup so I used Kayro Syrup. I didn't even have any molasses...but they thought they were my best yet. Will make them again this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
The flavor of these beans is excellent, but mine had to be cooked for a lot longer than the recipe called for. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is the first time I've been disappointed in a recipe from this website. Should have used far less onion as it overwhelmed the taste of beans and the recipe did not call for enough liquid. I added a cup of water halfway through and still the beans were too crisp. My husband tried to eat it, but we did not. Now that is something we've rarely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Had a snow day today and thought this would be good...I added chunks of leftover ham (about 3/4 cup) and chopped in two slices of bacon. I accidentally cooked it all with the ketchup mixed in and not added later, as was described and I did not add mustard. Instead I put in two dashes of worcestershire sauce. Came out great but I'd like it a bit more liquidy! This stays in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States