Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Top favorite new recipe for baked beans!!! The only thing I did different was oven baked them at 250....EVERYONE loves these and the maple syrup instead of molasses is to die for...a repeat recipe for SURE and WELL worth adding to your recipe box!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe. We loved how the beans turned out. Salt can be added any time during the recipe as studies have shown it has no effect on the toughness of the bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
When making any kind of recipe with dried beans, it is best to add the salt at the end, otherwise they won't soften
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I ran out of ketchup so I subbed for some Heinz Chili Sauce, and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scubagirl0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
So these beans have now been cooking for nearly 10 hours and are still not cooked. No - really - TEN hours. I soaked them overnight, boiled them for half an hour this morning and cooked them on high all day. They've been bubbling - cooking - are dark, but are hard and not edible. Pretty frustrating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I am not a big bean person, but everyone who ate these loved them! I didn't know what a ham hock was so instead I picked up a ham bone from my local Honey Baked Ham Store and used that. It added tons of meat and flavor and I'd definitely do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe, but the beans didn't turn out well. I ended up having to cook them for 7 hours and had to add water to them several times. Although they had a decent flavor they were very dry and not at all what I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
For those of you who have hard beans you may need to put 1/8 tsp of baking soda in your water when soaking (this is stated on the back of the navy bean bag for hard water or use bottle water). I was scared after reading many reviews but my beans came out soft in the amount of time stated in the recipe. I did use the quick method, used the water they boiled and sat in for an hour. I also filled my crock pot up with this water to more than cover the beans while cooking. As others stated used a can of tomato paste during the cooking process, and then at the end used some ketchup and mustard. Also used cut up pieces of country ham for the meat and a small vadilia onion. Taking to the lake today, looking forward to hearing great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These did not come out how I expected them to. I was hoping for barbeque beans. But they were still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
My boyfriend who is English asked me already for ages to make baked beans,his second love in life and bought me specialy a crockpot for this.And it was worth it ,great!I made all small portion bags for him in the freezer,great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Peeters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States