Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This is a 5 star with the caveat that a slow cooker is for cooking food slowly! I started this recipe in the early evening by boiling the rinsed beans on the stove then transfered them (with original water) into the crockpot. My father has always insisted you never throw away the water you cook your beans in. I used bacon instead of hamhocks and I added 4 garlic cloves. I think my quantity of beans was close to 4 or 5 cups, all said, my 1 gallon crockpot was full to the lid. I cooked them on high until I went to bed. I had to watch my water level in the first few hours and did fine just adding more as needed. I cannot imagine this recipe working with the prescribed amount! The beans were ready the following evening. They totally hit the spot for us particularly since we cannot get canned baked beans here. I had been craving Bush's baked beans for weeks and these definitely worked. Now if only we could find some kielbasa, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These were fine on the liquid and were certainly done. 3 adults gave them a 1 star and 2 gave it a zero....just didn't taste good, 2 said they only tasted onion, 2 said they were tooooo sweet and 1 said all she could taste was mustard. All of that said = YUCKY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I have made these a couple times. I soak the beans overnight for about 18 hors. I then boil them for 2 hours. I used all the ingrediants listed minus 1 tablespoon of mustard. I put the mustard and ketchup in at the beginning. These are great, and taste good reheated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This was very good, and best of all, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
taste great and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
the best i ever had. very simple to mmake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cochrane, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Wow, this was so delicious. Really wonderful, and made my house smell so homey. I served it with corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I didn't have any ham hocks and couldn't find them at the store, so I just chopped up bacon and added it to the beans. I also couldn't get maple syrup, so I just used a whole cup of brown sugar and added a bit of maple extract. I soaked the beans overnight, but still had to cook them longer to get them soft. We don't live in the States and you can't get baked beans here, so this was a really nice dish to take to the July 4th cookout and remind all the ex-pats of home! They were so easy, even if I were back in the States, I would make these because they taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
35 hours + 8 mins, start to finish...at 7220 feet elev. and the beans are still hit and miss with respect to being "done". Taking the advice of others, I started with more water so that I wouldn't have to add any additional. I soaked and cooked the beans off and on for the first 24 hours, then cooked another half day... There was still so much water, I finally added 6 cans of plain beans (pinto, great northern and navy). I doctored these up so much with alterations on the seasonings (using more catsup, adding Worcetershire, more brown sugar, molasses instead of maple...) there is no comparison to the original recipe. This one experience was enough to never wish to cook beans from scratch again. Had my pressure cooker not been broken, I would have used that trusty cooking method instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States