Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I'm not real picky when it comes to baked beans, but I did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This recipe was great. I needed something simple for a dinner party on Father's Day. This did not take any time away from attending other foods. Once prepped and in the cooker I left it alone. I will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA
Living In: Dunnigan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I don't know if I can every eat canned baked beans again after eating these. This is an easy, healthy recipe that is lovely to make the night before on a winter's night and have something delicious for breakfast the next day. I had to make some substitutions due to things not being the same in Australia: - I used a 500g package of dried lima beans as this was all there was at the grocer. Soaked them overnight before cooking and also got rid of the husks as well. - Used a 400g can of crushed tomatoes and 2T of tomato paste instead of the ketchup - Added 2 cubes of bacon stock to the water Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Never made baked beans from scratch before. These were delicious with turkey burgers and cole slaw! I did soak the beans overnight and I omitted ham hocks bcuz I don't eat pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I loved these beans. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
The texture of these were great but I found these to be too sweet. I followed the directions exactly. Next time I will cut the sugar and maple syrup in half. It is a good base though for tweaking the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
We loved this recipe, they were even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Traditional American-style baked beans are always way too sweet for my Brit palate, so I cut back significantly on the brown sugar and syrup (just a pinch/splash of each). After stirring in the ketchup, it was still a bit too sweet for me so I added a smidge of apple cider vinegar. The sweet/tart vinegar perfectly complemented the spicy Colman's English mustard I used. The smokey ham hock flavor took it to another level. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
These were good. Added more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamthevintagelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe. My husband " who is Mr. Bland " went overboard and has me making it again this week. A real winner and super easy. I soak the beans overnight. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rotnruth

Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States