Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
My boyfriend who is English asked me already for ages to make baked beans,his second love in life and bought me specialy a crockpot for this.And it was worth it ,great!I made all small portion bags for him in the freezer,great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Peeters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were very good. Shame on me tho, I soaked the beans overnight thinking that would eliminate the boiling process, but it did take mine longer to soften up. I will definitely be boiling next time. The flavorings are spot on but 1 lb. of ham hocks didn't yield much meat. Maybe next time I will add more or use smoked neck bones. So much better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was a great recipe! I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews that my beans wouldn't be done on time, but they were! I took them to a party, and everyone loved them! I will be holding onto this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Easy to prepare and fantastic results as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I do not know what I am doing wrong but I tried this recipe and followed it. I am still trying to get the beans to soten up after 18 hours in the crock pot. Yes my crock pot is working right beans are bubbling. Now they are at the point of a better taste. No tthe first time I have tried to do backed beans from scratch and have the same problem no mater what method I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is almost the same as the beans my Mom used to make, slow cooked in the oven, except she used molasses. The recipe used to be on the package of Great Northern white beans but I have not been able to find it anywhere. I love beans with maple flavoring and will definately give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I cooked these just as the recipe read except for a few minor adjustments in time and amount of liquid. This could be because of difference in slow cookers. Everyone said they were the best they ever tasted. I will be making these a lot. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
These were good but I found I needed to add quite a bit more water than what was called for. They did taste even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I accidentally discarded the water from the beans so I used chicken broth. the turned out great (made a double batch) and they are even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Yummy recipe, but too sweet! Next time I will reduce the maple syrup to 1/4 cup. I used a half pound of bacon, chopped, and it was divine. I soaked the beans overnight, drained and then cooked on low for about 10 hours. The beans were cooked but it would be better to make this when you're home to give it a stir, as some of the beans on top were a bit more al dente.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States