Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Good beans. As others have said, you may have to adjust timing or water as everyone's slow cooker is different. I adjusted the water a lot; I put several inches of water above the beans and then had to add more in while soaking. I did not drain the beans before putting in the slow cooker. This did make for rather soupy beans while cooking in the slow cooker, but eliminated the need to add water back in to the cooker while they were cooking away. I also waited to add the meat (I just used cooked and chopped bacon pieces) until about 4 hours into the cooking process. I didn't have maple syrup, so I used maple flavoring and honey. I'm not sure that adding salt up front means beans won't cook or not, but I prefer to add seasonings like that at the end--so hard to adjust down! So, I waited to add the salt and pepper with the mustard and ketchup at the end. I had a 2 pound, so 32 ounce, bag of pinto beans (no navy or Great Northern beans at Target) and per hubs this needed another 1/2 cup of brown sugar at the end to bring it to his preferred sweetness, as the only adjustment I made for the increased beans was the water. I did have to keep the lid off halfway for the last 1 or 2 hours of cooking to bring the liquid down. All told, we ended up with about 5 meals (there are two of us) of baked beans, so I froze three of them for another time, and it cooked for about 8 hours on high. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So far, so good. Just shy of 4 hours, I made a combo cup and 3/4 of all the liquids (no more added mustard) and added, it's definitely necessary. The inners of the bean are perfect the shell, is almost there (@ about 5 hours) will pull the plug around 6 hours...? The flavor, is perfect. Little sweet, little savory. 100% organic which feels good. Anyhow, I soaked my beans (24 oz) for 19.5 hours. Boiled as instructed (10 minutes) and let sit an hour as instructed as well. Left out the hamhocks as we're veggies over here....will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I'm making these now. I used 16oz great northern beans soaked overnight and then boiled for 15_min. I added a Tbl molasses, 1 Tbl minced garlic and a cup of brewed coffee (Emeril's secret ingredient). Can't wait for these to be done. The sauce tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I use cocktail winners instead of hocks. Soak beans overnight. (Change water to cut down on gas.) Spray crock with oil. Added beans and enough water to cover with diced onion. Cook on high for about 3 hours. Beans should be soft enough to squish with a spoon on counter but still firm. Added all other ingredients and cook on low until done. I like using cocktail wieners and bacon if available vs hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
The problem I believe is the salt. Salt should never be added to dried beans until they are already cooked to the tender stage. I knew this before starting, so made the recipe as indicated, but no salt till the end. The result was great. Thanks for the recipe! Greetings from Johannesburg, South Africa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Made this for the 4th of July for a large gathering and it was a huge hit. Following the direction as given, as others have noted, the beans are a little less soft than most people are used to. No one seemed to mind but if you do like softer beans, it will take additional time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
My girlfriend and I tried this recipe exactly as it was written. We cooked those beans for over 10 hours and they were still not done. I will try again but will soak them overnight first. Hopefully I will be able to give this recipe a better score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I was VERY apprehensive to try this recipe (or any bean in the slow cooker recipe I found here), but I just checked out the most helpful review (by ZEPHERSNOW) and went from there. Soaking the beans overnight and also boiling them for a bit I think was key in this not being a disaster as some people experienced. My beans didn't look quite as red as they do in the picture but the taste was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I put it on at 11 after soaking all night and at 8 still not done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Beans have to be cooked before adding any sugars. Once sugar (brown sugar, molasses, syrup) the beans will not get any softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States