Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Made this for the 4th of July for a large gathering and it was a huge hit. Following the direction as given, as others have noted, the beans are a little less soft than most people are used to. No one seemed to mind but if you do like softer beans, it will take additional time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
My girlfriend and I tried this recipe exactly as it was written. We cooked those beans for over 10 hours and they were still not done. I will try again but will soak them overnight first. Hopefully I will be able to give this recipe a better score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I was VERY apprehensive to try this recipe (or any bean in the slow cooker recipe I found here), but I just checked out the most helpful review (by ZEPHERSNOW) and went from there. Soaking the beans overnight and also boiling them for a bit I think was key in this not being a disaster as some people experienced. My beans didn't look quite as red as they do in the picture but the taste was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I put it on at 11 after soaking all night and at 8 still not done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Beans have to be cooked before adding any sugars. Once sugar (brown sugar, molasses, syrup) the beans will not get any softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Great recipe, great flavour! A little free advice, though: make sure you boil the beans in a large pot as they will expand and need quite a bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I love this recipe! I've used navy beans or great northern. Either will do. Generally I soak my beans for about 6 hours and then boil them for 30 minutes. The trick for me is to triple the rest of the ingredients. I cook them in my crock pot for 10 hours. Flavor is wonderful and everyone loves them. Nice and soft beans too. This will be my baked bean recipe that I use over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made it for a family BBQ and everyone loved it. I used smoked turkey instead of a hammock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This tested well on my friends, I was looking for something people would be impressed with at a cook out.I did not being them because they weren't exactly what I was looking for but will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My mom passed away in 1994 and made the best beans ever! This is as close as I have ever been able to come to her recipe! Only difference was I soaked the beans overnight instead of boiling and I increased the water by about 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States