Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I put it on at 11 after soaking all night and at 8 still not done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Beans have to be cooked before adding any sugars. Once sugar (brown sugar, molasses, syrup) the beans will not get any softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Great recipe, great flavour! A little free advice, though: make sure you boil the beans in a large pot as they will expand and need quite a bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I love this recipe! I've used navy beans or great northern. Either will do. Generally I soak my beans for about 6 hours and then boil them for 30 minutes. The trick for me is to triple the rest of the ingredients. I cook them in my crock pot for 10 hours. Flavor is wonderful and everyone loves them. Nice and soft beans too. This will be my baked bean recipe that I use over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made it for a family BBQ and everyone loved it. I used smoked turkey instead of a hammock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This tested well on my friends, I was looking for something people would be impressed with at a cook out.I did not being them because they weren't exactly what I was looking for but will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My mom passed away in 1994 and made the best beans ever! This is as close as I have ever been able to come to her recipe! Only difference was I soaked the beans overnight instead of boiling and I increased the water by about 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Unless preparing kidney beans, beans don't have to be boiled. If you don't soak overnight, put unsoaked beans and a carrot in slow cooker in early a.m. on either high or low depending on your pot. When carrot is soft, remove carrot (discard it), drain the beans, and continue with your recipe. I never achieved the right texture of BBQ beans in the past, so thank you, Laura, as the texture of your beans is spot on (as long as each given slow cooker is given long enough to allow the beans to finish cooking). I don't eat pork right now, so I used liquid smoke instead (would like to try smoked tomatoes, but I don't have a regular source for them yet). The liquid smoke helped quite a bit, but the ketchup flavor was too strong which I suspect would be a mute point w/hamhocks in the pot. In the past, I got close to the pork-n-bean flavor with my own 'made the recipe up myself type of recipe,' which includes apple. Now w/instructions from your recipe, I see the timing of the soaking, draining, & adding sauce more clearly. (Again, kudos to you, Laura, for getting that right, which helped get it straight in my mind.) Now, back to the drawing board on the flavorings sans pork. I'll need to dig up the notes on my old attempt at BBQ'd beans with that apple...., then I think I'll have it just almost perfect. Not long until I get this baby spot on without pork! Enjoy your hamhocks, while I enjoy my beans without ham - or ketchup.....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Made this 2 weeks ago and my kids have requested it again a couple more times. Very easy for those busy days, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
After years of trying to make baked beans without any success (beans always came out too hard) I came across this recipe and tried once more. They were the easiest best beans I have ever made or eaten. I will make this again and again. I omitted the ham hock just because I don't like meat in my beans. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States