Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
35 hours + 8 mins, start to finish...at 7220 feet elev. and the beans are still hit and miss with respect to being "done". Taking the advice of others, I started with more water so that I wouldn't have to add any additional. I soaked and cooked the beans off and on for the first 24 hours, then cooked another half day... There was still so much water, I finally added 6 cans of plain beans (pinto, great northern and navy). I doctored these up so much with alterations on the seasonings (using more catsup, adding Worcetershire, more brown sugar, molasses instead of maple...) there is no comparison to the original recipe. This one experience was enough to never wish to cook beans from scratch again. Had my pressure cooker not been broken, I would have used that trusty cooking method instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Great recipe! Just needed a little more spices for our tastes - I added some worstechire sauce, browning seasoning, seasoned salt, cajun seasoning, and chili blend seasoning, along with about 1/2 c more ketchup. Turned out wonderful! We all loved all the meat that came off the ham hocks... almost like a barbeque pork/baked beans dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annalise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I made this recipe twice -- definitely recommend soaking the beans overnight. Also used molasses in place of syrup, omitted the ham, and added 1 TBSP vinegar at the end. Very good flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I love this recipe! I soak the beans over night in 48 oz of water for at least 12 hours. I do not do the boiling technique at all. It turns out excellent. I think we all need to remember that our crock pots are different heat and different ages. So cook until yours are done. I had some leftover ham last time and did not use the ham hocks just added the ham chuncked at the beginning. I do use Heinz Cocktail Sauce instead of plain Ketchup and a nice deli brown mustard. Gives it great flavor. I have made these three times now and Love them! I even use low calorie maple syrup because that is what I have in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
These are very yummy, easy beans. Instead of ham hock, however, I put some have stock granuals in with the water and it turned out wonderfully. I'll make these again sometime :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
The taste was excellent, but the beans were still hard after the cooking, soaking, and slow roasting. Need to soak much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Definately soak the beans overnight and boil them as well. I could not get mine tender after cooking on high for 12 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I halfed the recipe and it was great. Only thing I changed was not adding any addition salt, the ham hocks put in more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Finally, proportions for Mom's Baked Beans. She was one of those that only knew an ingredients list, she'd put it together, let them simmer several hours and then add more of certain ingredients to taste. Start with drained, canned baked beans to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
These were very good...however, it is a must to soak the beans overnight beforehand. The quick soak methood just isn't enough, even though I cooked my beans for about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States