Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Great recipe! Just needed a little more spices for our tastes - I added some worstechire sauce, browning seasoning, seasoned salt, cajun seasoning, and chili blend seasoning, along with about 1/2 c more ketchup. Turned out wonderful! We all loved all the meat that came off the ham hocks... almost like a barbeque pork/baked beans dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annalise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
I made this recipe twice -- definitely recommend soaking the beans overnight. Also used molasses in place of syrup, omitted the ham, and added 1 TBSP vinegar at the end. Very good flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I love this recipe! I soak the beans over night in 48 oz of water for at least 12 hours. I do not do the boiling technique at all. It turns out excellent. I think we all need to remember that our crock pots are different heat and different ages. So cook until yours are done. I had some leftover ham last time and did not use the ham hocks just added the ham chuncked at the beginning. I do use Heinz Cocktail Sauce instead of plain Ketchup and a nice deli brown mustard. Gives it great flavor. I have made these three times now and Love them! I even use low calorie maple syrup because that is what I have in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
These are very yummy, easy beans. Instead of ham hock, however, I put some have stock granuals in with the water and it turned out wonderfully. I'll make these again sometime :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
The taste was excellent, but the beans were still hard after the cooking, soaking, and slow roasting. Need to soak much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Definately soak the beans overnight and boil them as well. I could not get mine tender after cooking on high for 12 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I halfed the recipe and it was great. Only thing I changed was not adding any addition salt, the ham hocks put in more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Finally, proportions for Mom's Baked Beans. She was one of those that only knew an ingredients list, she'd put it together, let them simmer several hours and then add more of certain ingredients to taste. Start with drained, canned baked beans to make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
These were very good...however, it is a must to soak the beans overnight beforehand. The quick soak methood just isn't enough, even though I cooked my beans for about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Who needs a doctored CANNED recipe when you can make them better from scratch? I also rated this shy of a 5-star, only due to tweaking. I soaked the beans ahead, then added them in with the rest of the ingredients to the crockpot, using a ham shank and subbing 2 Tbsp. maple with molasses. I cooked them about 8 hours overnight only to find the water had absorbed and the beans had begun to crisp - Aaaah! I quickly added about 2 more cups water since the beans were only a little toasted, then let them cook another 8 hours, adding 3 more cups water about halfway through. The ham cooked right off the bone, making yummy meaty morsels among super-soft beans, now chocolatey brown (maybe from some of the toasting!). They were delicious! I added more ketchup to my bowl because that's the way I like 'em, but I might add a little more ketchup to the pot itself when I make these next time. They also freeze very well - don't be afraid to make the whole recipe if your friends/family like baked beans, they'll love them just as much as mine did both the first and second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States