Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
So easy to prepare and has that fantastic made from scratch taste that you can't get out of can. I just soaked the beans in my crockpot over night, draining off most of the water in the morning. By the time you cook them for 12-14 hours, you really don't need to cook the beans seperately beforehand. Browned the salt pork first before adding so the pork would completely render. Added 1/2 tablespoon of cider vinegar to the beans right before serving to perk them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I'n giving this one three stars, even though mine were inedable. The flavor was fantastic, but my beans never fully cooked. I took the suggestion of a few reviewers and didn't pre-cook (did pre-soak) the beans and I'm sure that was where I went wrong. I will try this one again, due to the "sauce" of the beans being really flavorfull, but will be sure to pre-cook my beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I served this yesterday for a New Years celebration and all I got were rave reviews. I only did a few things different. I did a quick soak on the beans and did not pre-cook them. I just put two cups of the soaking liquid in the crockpot. I followed the other directions exactly other than that I added two whole jalepenos to it (seeds and all) to give it a slight heat in the back of your throat when you eat it...it was so mild that my norweigen in-laws couldn't really tell that I had added it. The beans came out darker colored (normal when making them in the crockpot) but the taste is out of this world!! You must try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was looking for a basic recipe that did not include canned beans (too much sodium) and tasted like Mom's top-of-the-stove baked beans; this is a keeper! Did not follow the recipe exactly, but found it the perfect base for what I was looking for. My changes (and methods used): Soak beans in water overnight; dump all soak water then boil beans with fresh water (enough to cover beans) for about 20 minutes or until beans are soft and 'mush' between your fingers. Next, drain beans; RESERVE & SET ASIDE ALL LIQUID. Fry 6 pieces of bacon + one onion (both chopped) until bacon is brown & crisp. Drain bacon grease, return beans, bacon, and onion to pot and add remaining ingredients: -enough reserve liquid to cover beans, -1/2 cup brown sugar, -1/2 cup maple syrup, -1/2 cup ketchup, -1/4 cup prepared mustard (I used mix of regular yellow + stone ground), -2 TBS apple cider vinegar, -Did not use salt pork or molasses. IF you like your beans less sweet, start w/ less sugar/syrup & add more later, if needed. Cooking method: on top of the stove using my grandmother's "soup pot" (cast aluminum/ dutch oven pot). Dish is ready in under 2 hours (excluding overnight soak time). I also fry bacon and onion in this same pot, which adds extra bacon flavor to the beans, even with the grease drained off. My beans have been on the stove top for only 20 minutes but I keep going back for another taste! This will be a delicious side dish to go with our home made BBQ & slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
The recipe was good, and the beans were tender, but I had to add a few things to heighten the flavor. 1/2 tsp liquid smoke,1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup ketchup, 2 jalapenos chopped,and 2 tbls vinegar. I just like more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Just like Mom's homemade baked beans that simmered all day in the oven, without the oven hassle! These baked beans are the closest thing to baked beans I enjoyed as a child and the only drawback is still the wait - but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I could not believe how easy it was to make. I tried making baked beans once before and they were awful. If this recipe had not turned out my husband would have been eating beans from a can for the rest of his life. He loved this recipe and we will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Thought these were easy and tasted good. Would have liked them a little runnier. Will add more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This recipe is much like the way my beloved grandmother made her Sunday night beans, only way back then she didn't have a crockpot. I made one slight alternation; I added a good-sized pinch of ground cloves because that's the way she made 'em special. I love the crockpot idea, though. So convenient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Really excellent flavor. This is a recipe that will find its way to my table on special occasions only because it takes awhile to cook. I added a sliced kielbasa to mine and we had it for a meal. Really good recipe--Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States