Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe comes out delicious. So easy to follow! The only change I made was to add coktail weiners. I added them for the last 20 mintes. Came out awesome. A real hit with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I cooked this in the slow cooker the day before our bbq and I am so glad i did. There was way too much water. The day of the bbq I had to strain the liquid out and I added more brown sugar and molases and I also added bacon on top of if and slow cooked it again for about 5 more hours and THEN they turned out good, but not the best. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Great, easy recipe. I added a little salt and a little more molassess. I did find the cooking time way off. I filled my crockpot at midnight, set it to low and by 6 am the beans were done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is an very good recipe. I really appreciated being able to make this in a slow cooker so not heat up my kitchen by using my oven in the summer. I doubled the recipe to serve a larger group. I did add just a bit more molassas and brown suger and just a tad of Liquid Smoke to the recipe but even before making those changes the favor was good and the consistency was perfect. I will certaintly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Finally, a recipe for baked beans that doesn't start with canned baked beans. What is the point? Anyway, it is a fine recipe. I haven't made it for years and needed a refresher course on the ingredients and the proceedure. I'm not sure why you cook unsoaked beans, refrigerate and then use a cup of it's liquid. But hey, whatever. I used your recipe as a guide and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Fabulous! We omitted the salt pork (we're on a low/no sodium diet), and it was still wonderful. The beans did come out somewhat thick -- we thinned them with more water before serving. How wonderful to be able to have baked beans again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I have to say, I was disappointed. They turned out dry and tasted "strange". I've eaten plenty of baked beans in my life and these didn't taste right. I was looking forward to sharing a Canadian classic with my south american husband and I don't think he'll be willing to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Just like Mom's homemade baked beans that simmered all day in the oven, without the oven hassle! These baked beans are the closest thing to baked beans I enjoyed as a child and the only drawback is still the wait - but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Thought these were easy and tasted good. Would have liked them a little runnier. Will add more liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I only give it 4 stars because it was too watery. I found they had great taste! They were just runny and the flavor was watered down too. The recipe calls for 8 cups of water and I was not sure if that meant with the water drained off or not. alltogether I put in 9 cups of water. One cup from the reserved beans water, 8 from tap. Next time I will only add 8 total cups of water, and open the cover about an hour before they are done, just to thicken them up a little. Even runny they have been a great lunch at work over some wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States