Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
These were totally delicious. Maybe a bit on the sweet size for my pallet, but still fabulous. I used low sodium chicken stock for the cooking liquid. I soaked the beans overnight, and I did the first 2 slow cooker hours on high and the last six on low. Perfect texture. Making again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Marmaduke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These are the best tasting beans ever. My fellow was the one who put this recipe together and instead of the salt pork, he used chopped bits of ham from a large smoked bone-in ham from Sunday's dinner, and also added 1 tsp. salt, 1/4 cup ketchup and about 1 Tbsp vinegar to the existing recipe, and it was perfect. When he was precooking the beans, he had to add a little extra water once or twice, so they didn't dry up too much, but everything else the same. No more Libby's canned beans for us. This was better. Thanks Creamcheese5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SingnDance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Morgan*~
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I really enjoyed these!! I was pleasantly surprised. Growing up we always had beans and hot dogs once a week. I haven't made them in quite some time and was nervous making these. In the end they browned up really nice and taste wonderful.. just like the good ol days ;) I used ham in my beans because i had some on hand i needed to use. I will keep this recipe. I followed directions exactly... and boiled the beans the night before. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Flavor was pretty good, a little on the sweet side. Will certainly make again, but with a bit less molasses/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were good, but I think next time I'll be making some changes. I made a double batch of these for Christmas and followed recipe exactly. First I would use Navy beans, not Great Northern, they are too big and get a bit mushy, next I will add more of the cooking liquid since the finished beans were a bit on the dry side. I think the pork would be better if they were cooked first. This recipe is a good base for from scratch baked beans which I've never had. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
the beans turned out great, but i added a little hot sauce for some extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was looking for a basic recipe that did not include canned beans (too much sodium) and tasted like Mom's top-of-the-stove baked beans; this is a keeper! Did not follow the recipe exactly, but found it the perfect base for what I was looking for. My changes (and methods used): Soak beans in water overnight; dump all soak water then boil beans with fresh water (enough to cover beans) for about 20 minutes or until beans are soft and 'mush' between your fingers. Next, drain beans; RESERVE & SET ASIDE ALL LIQUID. Fry 6 pieces of bacon + one onion (both chopped) until bacon is brown & crisp. Drain bacon grease, return beans, bacon, and onion to pot and add remaining ingredients: -enough reserve liquid to cover beans, -1/2 cup brown sugar, -1/2 cup maple syrup, -1/2 cup ketchup, -1/4 cup prepared mustard (I used mix of regular yellow + stone ground), -2 TBS apple cider vinegar, -Did not use salt pork or molasses. IF you like your beans less sweet, start w/ less sugar/syrup & add more later, if needed. Cooking method: on top of the stove using my grandmother's "soup pot" (cast aluminum/ dutch oven pot). Dish is ready in under 2 hours (excluding overnight soak time). I also fry bacon and onion in this same pot, which adds extra bacon flavor to the beans, even with the grease drained off. My beans have been on the stove top for only 20 minutes but I keep going back for another taste! This will be a delicious side dish to go with our home made BBQ & slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as printed, and it turned out perfect. I've made other Boston bean recipes with soaking the beans and without soaking the beans, and always, always the recipes with the soaked beans were the ones that turned out the best. I didn't have salt pork, so I used 4 slices of bacon. Next time, I'll try 6 or 8 slices. I found it wasn't salty enough with the four slices. The reason I didn't give 5 stars was because the recipe didn't say to wait 24 hr's before reheating and serving. These beans are 4 stars after the 14 hours in the crock, but they become 5 stars 24 hours later. Sort of like chili I suppose. This recipe is a keeper, and one I'll make over again. Theshoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I used bacon (cooked) 6 strips instead of the salt pork and instead of the molasses I use Maple Syrup. It was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Giuliani-Summa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Neither my husband nor I cared for this recipe.. In our opinion, they needed something other than sweetness - maybe some vinegar or mustard, and MUCH less molasses...the molasses imparted a bitter taste. Definitely won't be making this again - sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States