Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I tried another recipe this past weekend for boston baked beans and it was a dud for my family did not look or taste like what i grew up with today i am trying this one and already short while into cooking process they look and smell devine. I have read a lot of the reviews but i am not changing anything in recipe this time always like to follow first time then make changes if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Nice consistency, but a strange smell and aftertaste. I think I don't like molasses. Will try after they sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Mount Wolf, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I love these beans. I cut the recipe in half, substituted brown sugar for molasses (but used less), and crumbled a slice of bacon in instead of salt pork. I also added some ketchup; about 1.5 Tbs. Had to add some water before I saved them since I like mine juicier. They were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mountaindo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
The flavor on this was excellent. However, it did not cook as indicated! It says to boil the beans for 1.5 hours, which I did - and there was NO water left. Thankfully they did not burn. I had started it in the morning, thinking I would soak the beans longer. I skipped the soaking and put it straight into the crock pot. I had to add an additional cup of water since I didn't have any left after boiling. I kept the crock pot on low and it was absolutely perfect by 2:30 in the afternoon.... and mushy by the time we ate dinner. I'll definitely do this again, but start it later in the day so they aren't so mushy next time. Again, great flavor. Next time I might add some bacon with the ham to give it a little bit more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. It is much too sweet for my taste. I was trying to find a recipe similar to the canned variety of Grandma Brown's Baked Beans, but this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
These were totally delicious. Maybe a bit on the sweet size for my pallet, but still fabulous. I used low sodium chicken stock for the cooking liquid. I soaked the beans overnight, and I did the first 2 slow cooker hours on high and the last six on low. Perfect texture. Making again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Marmaduke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These are the best tasting beans ever. My fellow was the one who put this recipe together and instead of the salt pork, he used chopped bits of ham from a large smoked bone-in ham from Sunday's dinner, and also added 1 tsp. salt, 1/4 cup ketchup and about 1 Tbsp vinegar to the existing recipe, and it was perfect. When he was precooking the beans, he had to add a little extra water once or twice, so they didn't dry up too much, but everything else the same. No more Libby's canned beans for us. This was better. Thanks Creamcheese5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SingnDance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*Morgan*~
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I really enjoyed these!! I was pleasantly surprised. Growing up we always had beans and hot dogs once a week. I haven't made them in quite some time and was nervous making these. In the end they browned up really nice and taste wonderful.. just like the good ol days ;) I used ham in my beans because i had some on hand i needed to use. I will keep this recipe. I followed directions exactly... and boiled the beans the night before. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*Morgan*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Portales, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Flavor was pretty good, a little on the sweet side. Will certainly make again, but with a bit less molasses/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were good, but I think next time I'll be making some changes. I made a double batch of these for Christmas and followed recipe exactly. First I would use Navy beans, not Great Northern, they are too big and get a bit mushy, next I will add more of the cooking liquid since the finished beans were a bit on the dry side. I think the pork would be better if they were cooked first. This recipe is a good base for from scratch baked beans which I've never had. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States