Slow Cooker Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Really excellent flavor. This is a recipe that will find its way to my table on special occasions only because it takes awhile to cook. I added a sliced kielbasa to mine and we had it for a meal. Really good recipe--Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
AMAZING!! Tasted just like they were cooked for hours in the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This recipe is much like the way my beloved grandmother made her Sunday night beans, only way back then she didn't have a crockpot. I made one slight alternation; I added a good-sized pinch of ground cloves because that's the way she made 'em special. I love the crockpot idea, though. So convenient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is an very good recipe. I really appreciated being able to make this in a slow cooker so not heat up my kitchen by using my oven in the summer. I doubled the recipe to serve a larger group. I did add just a bit more molassas and brown suger and just a tad of Liquid Smoke to the recipe but even before making those changes the favor was good and the consistency was perfect. I will certaintly be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I served this yesterday for a New Years celebration and all I got were rave reviews. I only did a few things different. I did a quick soak on the beans and did not pre-cook them. I just put two cups of the soaking liquid in the crockpot. I followed the other directions exactly other than that I added two whole jalepenos to it (seeds and all) to give it a slight heat in the back of your throat when you eat it...it was so mild that my norweigen in-laws couldn't really tell that I had added it. The beans came out darker colored (normal when making them in the crockpot) but the taste is out of this world!! You must try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
So easy to prepare and has that fantastic made from scratch taste that you can't get out of can. I just soaked the beans in my crockpot over night, draining off most of the water in the morning. By the time you cook them for 12-14 hours, you really don't need to cook the beans seperately beforehand. Browned the salt pork first before adding so the pork would completely render. Added 1/2 tablespoon of cider vinegar to the beans right before serving to perk them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I could not believe how easy it was to make. I tried making baked beans once before and they were awful. If this recipe had not turned out my husband would have been eating beans from a can for the rest of his life. He loved this recipe and we will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Fabulous! We omitted the salt pork (we're on a low/no sodium diet), and it was still wonderful. The beans did come out somewhat thick -- we thinned them with more water before serving. How wonderful to be able to have baked beans again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Awesome beans! Tasted even better than the ones I've baked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Finally, a recipe for baked beans that doesn't start with canned baked beans. What is the point? Anyway, it is a fine recipe. I haven't made it for years and needed a refresher course on the ingredients and the proceedure. I'm not sure why you cook unsoaked beans, refrigerate and then use a cup of it's liquid. But hey, whatever. I used your recipe as a guide and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States